We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“False advertising!!! Do NOT stay here.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #52 of 196 Galway B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“False advertising!!! Do NOT stay here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

I don't usually write reviews but I have to for this one. We stayed here for the last two nights of a 7 night trip around Ireland. We had 7 people in our party, and booked online at booking.com. The pictures looked like it was such a beautiful view, and we payed extra for the family room with a bay window and bay view. In the pictures, the rooms looked so nice and roomy.
Boy, were they misleading!! This was the worst of the 4 places we stayed on our trip, by far. The place had a covered-up smoke smell, and the room was TINY with two single beds and one double bed squeezed in. There was a space of about 1.5 feet to squeeze through to get into the bathroom, which was not all that clean (especially considering the rubbery bath mat outside the shower that looked very used and never washed).
We came back from shopping and found that the room had not been cleaned and the towels which we'd placed on the bathroom floor (following directions for requesting new ones) were still there with no new towels. The 2nd morning, we had to leave the room to go seek out a roll of toilet paper! For the price (which was more than other B&Bs in the area), the service was bad, the bay view was really a view of a main road and a small, distant marshy "Rusheen Bay" and the breakfast was anything but "full Irish" (which we also paid extra for). It consisted if cereals, canned fruit, eggs to order (no frills), and the cheapest white bread you could find. There was a shelf full of jams and marmalades; the one my mom opened was moldy.

Obviously, I could go on and on. But the bottom line is that this place was a big disappointment. It seems like it's a place run by a family who wants to do a B&B as cheaply as possible and who is not too worried about the experience of it's visitors.

Choose a different place!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mi1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    26
    14
    7
    11
See reviews for
23
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Araras, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We stayed at the Rusheen Bay House for only one night, on our way to the Cliffs of Moher. It's very well located, by the coast, very close to pubs and restaurants. The hotel is a B&B, but we found more resources here than in a regular hotel in London or Dublin! The people is very friendly, the rooms are clean, well set, the breakfast is very good (option for Irish breakfast or continental) and the place is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciene_Campos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Can recommend without hesitation. Will certainly stay there again when visiting Galway.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
200 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Good B&B within walking distance to the beach. Comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. Travelling as 2 couples sharing a family room; the room provided was great for this. Were able to easily walk to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed at this B & B for one night, having booked it on line. The website we booked it through suggested a family apartment, so we went for it. We had not stayed in an Irish B & B for more than 10 years and this place was every good reason why it will be at least as long again.
A warm welcome was non existent, a very busy lady got our name showed us as far as the door and rushed off about her business. It was an average sized bedroom with 2 single beds and a double bed crushed into a corner (under the television, which was not secured on a sloping holder) which exceeded the size available to it and the headboard jutted out which left approx a 20 inch path to the bathroom.
I would have thought that the 10 year gap since last in a B & B would have eliminated those horribly scented pink bars of soap with "welcome" on them but no, they are still out there. The bathroom would have been modern in 80's but apart from the hamfisted DIY attempts at silicone sealing had not been upgraded since.
There was also no sink plug, so having was an issue. There was plenty of hot water though.
One of the window catches was broken and would not close properly. If you are a light sleeper do not pick the front of this B & B as the trafffic noise goes on late and starts early.
Breakfast was adequate and hot, poached eggs were excellent, but fried eggs over cooked.
Given the value now available from hotels and the relative cost of this and similar
B & B's, there is no contest. There was nothing extra from "welcome" to exit that would encourage us to book here again.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellorIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.7 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.7 km away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
0.0 km away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#4 of 196 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
St. Jude's Bed and Breakfast
7.1 km away
Almara House
Almara House
#10 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
5.2 km away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#38 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8 Cashelmara | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing