We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at the Park House Hotel”
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Arrived at this Hotel which is ideally located metres away from Eyre Square and very convenient to shops, bars and restaurants. From the moment we arrived at the Hotel for our recent two night stay, we felt very welcome and found every member of staff friendly and helpful. The Hotel has a lovely atmosphere and was very nicely decorated for Christmas which was great. The hotel is spotlessly clean and our room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast and Dinner in the restaurant was excellent each day with a good Menu choice. We ate in the Bar and found both the food and the service first class. We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and will recommend it to family and friends. Many Thanks to All Members of Staff for making our stay so pleasant and relaxing.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank johncA3124QX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 350 of 2,896 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2017

Firstly, if you want room only you can't book on the telephone. I was told I had to book that online as the staff "were not allowed" to take these bookings. If it was my hotel, whoever came up with this idea would be fired. Bird in the hand...more than 50% chance of losing the booking at that point and very backward thinking policy in 2017.

Secondly, be careful when booking on mobile devices as it's possible to select a room only to find later that parking isn't included. I have never known a hotel with a car park to charge for parking for room only. And of course I had no idea since the telephone staff weren't permitted to discuss room only or what it meant. No explanations given.

When I found out after arriving at the hotel and questioned the staff at the desk I was rudely told room only "is what it says". ???. Was I to take it that a bed wasn't included? No shower? Woeful response. Times have moved on and not everyone needs a breakfast.

We have stayed a good few times over the years and generally find it ok with good location but at this stage, it needs an investment to modernise and bring it in to line with other national and international standards. The food is very average and also needs a refresh.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MichelleNMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived in Galway and we were only staying for one night and had heard good things about the hotel and thankfully it all turned out to true! Special mention to Brian who told us exactly where to go to a great cocktail bar for an enjoyable night.. absolutely will be staying here if we visit Galway again!

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Cormac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived by bus from Dublin Airport and the hotel was very close to bus station. As soon as we entered the reception area, we knew this hotel would not disappoint. The decor and ambience were tasteful and warm. Dinner of Irish lamb, accompanied by excellent wine, completed our first night. We think this is a first rate hotel with exceptional service and surroundings. It's a subdued and quiet hotel which is what we prefer. The room is extra large and extremely quiet. Request a room on second or third floor to the back. All sights are within walking distance. I can't wait to return to the warmth and peace of this Galway City gem.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tripfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

From the moment the valet took my car to park it we relaxed. The porter offered to take our bags as we made our way to reception to book in. After finishing booking in we were offered tea and coffee. Not only did tea and coffee arrive but also fruit cake and biscuits. Such a lovely gesture. We had ordered a junior suite so the three of us could be together in one room. There was still and sparkling water available free and replenished each day. The room was huge, very clean and very comfortable. There was a super selection of freshly cooked food for breakfast as well as the usual cold meats, cheese, fruit etc. However best of all was the fact that fresh pots of tea were brought to us each morning and our used cups were replaced by clean ones. The attention to detail was excellent. Unfortunately we had prebooked dinner in restaurants in town and never got to eat in the hotel. I'll be back to do this as soon as possible! An extremely relaxing break thanks to the wonderful staff at The Parkhouse Hotel.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank monasteroris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
7.5 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,099 reviews
3.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.5 km away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,224 reviews
3.2 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Address: Park House Hotel 18 Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#2 Family Hotel in Galway
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: €93 - €188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing