We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel was great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This Hotel was great.”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The staff are fabulous. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is great and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks indeed for your kind review of our hotel - it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the team here at the hotel. Again many thanks.

Kind regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    153
    46
    32
    43
See reviews for
53
194
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The staff here was amazing and I couldn't think of a better location; however, the room itself left something to be desired. The room was obviously updated with newer furnishings and the bathroom had been redone but there was a certain dinginess to the room. It always felt damp in there and the carpet had some pretty nasty stains.

I'm not entirely sure I would stay here again. The room wasn't terrible and, again, the staff were great but the room definitely fell short of expectations.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogboy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments concerning our staff and location, we are extremely fortunate with both and I will pass on your kind comments onto our staff. I have noted your comments in relation to the carpet staining. The carpet stain is in our hallway and it is from alcohol from a past guest & is due to be replaced in the up coming weeks. Due to our summer season we were unable to replace until our busy season was coming to an end. In relation to the dampness we received no complaint during your stay or on checkout.

Please contact me directly on ---------- if ever planning a trip again to the “City of the Tribes” Once again thank you for your review on trip advisor and

Warm regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The staff is just WOW, a special thank you to the young lady on reception and to the young lad on breakfast ! They are just perfect and make our stay wonderful.
The rooms are very clean, recently refurbished, well designed.
The only negative point is the night club that can be heard from the rooms on fridays nights. But this was told to us on arrival, so there is no complaint there, they set up correct expectations when booking the rooms.
Parking 24h : 8.50euros.
Wonderful service !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamoizelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you all back to us on some future date.

Kind regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff throughout !...We had intended to check out restaurants in Galway city, but ended up eating both nights in the Skeff !...fabulous food !! and the breakfasts were amazing !! ( and served up so professionally )....I always love a hotel that is the meeting place in a city....and the Skeff is Galway's !...........If I had any small complaint it would be that our room was a bit close to the late nite club noise, but nonetheless,on any return to Galway , we will be wanting to stay at the Skeff !!

Room Tip: Rooms closest to niteclub may be a bit noisy for some
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John209938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Skeffington Arms Hotel and for choosing us as your accommodation provider for your recent visit to Galway City.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to all here.

We hope to see in Galway again on some future date.

Kind regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I stayed in the Skeff for one night in the middle of the Arts Festival. The staff at reception were extremely helpful in welcoming us and attending to our needs. The room overlooked Eyre Square and it was big, spaceous and airy. This hotel is in the heart of Galway and I will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Skeffington Arms Hotel and for choosing us as your accommodation provider for your recent visit to Galway City.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to all here.

We hope to see in Galway again on some future date.

Kind regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 46 in Galway
627 reviews
0.4 km away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#32 of 46 in Galway
49 reviews
0.2 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#33 of 46 in Galway
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
886 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#22 of 46 in Galway
1,423 reviews
0.2 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Property: Skeffington Arms Hotel
Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing