We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Ardawn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardawn House
Ranked #17 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My daughter and I spent a few days in Galway and chose to stay at Ardawn House because it was recommended in Steve Rick's book. We are very happy we made this selection for our stay. Mike and Breda were wonderful hosts and the room we stayed in was very nice. We had an unexpected pleasure when I realized I could see the Greyhound track out our window. Every morning, we had a delicious breakfast made just for us. We selected it from the menu, and it when it arrived it was beautifully presented in addition to being tasty. They were also very helpful with directions and provided us with recommendations of places to eat when we were out and about. Another reason why I liked this B&B is because it was close enough to walk to Eyre Square, but far enough away that you didn't have a lot of noise at night. If you are looking for a place to stay in Galway, Ardawn House would be my recommendation.

Room Tip: I liked the room that overlooked the Greyhound track because it was very quiet, and we were able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ireland4us-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    71
    32
    15
    10
See reviews for
136
195
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Many thanks to Mike + Breda. We were 4 professional women travelling around Ireland and were recommended to stay here. We were not disappointed. The best B+B we stayed in !!!!!

Comfortable beds, down duvets, Laura Ashley blankets. New bathrooms, hot showers, fantastic breakfast. Tea, water available 24 hrs.

On a personal note, thank you Mike for helping me with my bags.....you could tell I had a full blown congested Irish head cold coming on and I appreciate your help more than you know. Breda, thank you for the Irish Soda Bread recipe. I havent made it as of yet.....but I will. Cheers !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiamondsandIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Ardawn house is well situated for drivers or walkers. It's about 10 minutes to the center of town and at the hub of major thoroughfares leading out of town. We found the room totally comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Breda was a kick to get to know. This would be an excellent choice if you want a B&B in Galway.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3doglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We had a lovely stay in Galway at the Ardawn House in September. Mike and Breda were so pleasant and welcoming. We loved the brown bread that Breda made and served for breakfast each day. We enjoyed it so much that she was kind enough to share her recipe with us. Yum!! The rooms are very nice and the B&B is conveniently located to shopping, buses, pubs and restaurants.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ginger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Convenient location near train, bus, and day tour stations. Friendly, helpful hosts. Comfortable rooms. Wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,824 reviews
0.6 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,709 reviews
0.2 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 185 in Galway
606 reviews
2.8 km away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 185 in Galway
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardawn House

Property: Ardawn House
Address: Ardawn House 31 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardawn House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardawn House is a family run city centre bed and breakfast. We are located close to the tourist office and the coach station where all the day tour buses depart from. We have 8 very comfortable rooms all en-suite. We have free car parking and WiFi.In 2011 we completely refurbished all our room. We have a huge choice of breakfast and most of our produce is local and organic. Your hosts and owners are Mike and Breda Guilfoyle who have vast experience in the hospitality sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ardawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardawn House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing