We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Ireland Cycling

West Ireland Cycling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Ireland Cycling is strategically located in the heart of Galway City. We specialize in cycling tours & bike hire in Connemara, the Burren and the Aran Islands. These regions are some of the most beautiful in the world. Our tours are unique in that we take cyclists off the beaten track. We bring you onto roads that have little or no traffic. Why? Because we want you to experience, explore and enjoy the most beautiful scenery the West of Ireland has to offer while ensuring the safety of you and those travelling with you.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We rented a Cannondale tandem from the outfit and the price for the day as well as the bike itself were outstanding. Please note they are located a few shops down from Monroe's on Dominick street (the Google location you'll find may say closed permanently as they have moved).

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    8
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
“MANY THANKS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2016

A great cycling trip, special thanks to Irene for all of your help and assistance to our family for making our self-guided trip a memorable experience. Karen & family June 2016

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank kj3white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2016

A self guided cycling trip around Connemara was the perfect way to discover this beautiful area. West of Ireland Cycling were well organised - their friendly team looked after us and ensured that the different travel requirements by some of our party presented no problems. Very happy to recommend them.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank _kateford333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent support, friendly team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2016

Cycling in Connemara in June could have been a wash out - but it wasn't: while all around us it rained, we were blessed with excellent weather. While West of Ireland Cycling can't be given the credit for that, they can be complimented on the excellent bikes, well-thought out route, lovely stopping points and B&Bs / hotels, and the attentive team. There were some challenging distances and hills, but we all managed them without any attrition and we were all only semi-regular amateur / weekend cyclists. B&B at Cong and Carna deserve special mention but all the other accomodation used throughout Connemara was good, with excellent supplies of Guinness and good food in-house or nearby.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank DandAStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Perfect bike rental, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2016

I visited Galway on business and rented a road bike at West Ireland Cycling. The bike was perfect (Trek 1.1 road bike), set up with pedals of my liking etc. The staff was also super-helpful with payment options, and even borrowed me a loaner bike before paying (so I could bike to the ATM nearby). All in all - very good experience renting here!

Biking in Ireland is also fantastic; what a scenery! A little trick to get used to left-hand-side driving. Most cars pretty thoughtful. Roads are varying from fantastic to pretty rough. The top experience was the trip to Cliffs of Moher - simply stunning!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Ireland Cycling also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to West Ireland Cycling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing