We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent support, friendly team” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Ireland Cycling

West Ireland Cycling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Ireland Cycling is strategically located in the heart of Galway City. We specialize in cycling tours & bike hire in Connemara, the Burren and the Aran Islands. These regions are some of the most beautiful in the world. Our tours are unique in that we take cyclists off the beaten track. We bring you onto roads that have little or no traffic. Why? Because we want you to experience, explore and enjoy the most beautiful scenery the West of Ireland has to offer while ensuring the safety of you and those travelling with you.
Stafford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent support, friendly team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2016

Cycling in Connemara in June could have been a wash out - but it wasn't: while all around us it rained, we were blessed with excellent weather. While West of Ireland Cycling can't be given the credit for that, they can be complimented on the excellent bikes, well-thought out route, lovely stopping points and B&Bs / hotels, and the attentive team. There were some challenging distances and hills, but we all managed them without any attrition and we were all only semi-regular amateur / weekend cyclists. B&B at Cong and Carna deserve special mention but all the other accomodation used throughout Connemara was good, with excellent supplies of Guinness and good food in-house or nearby.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank DandAStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    8
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Perfect bike rental, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2016

I visited Galway on business and rented a road bike at West Ireland Cycling. The bike was perfect (Trek 1.1 road bike), set up with pedals of my liking etc. The staff was also super-helpful with payment options, and even borrowed me a loaner bike before paying (so I could bike to the ATM nearby). All in all - very good experience renting here!

Biking in Ireland is also fantastic; what a scenery! A little trick to get used to left-hand-side driving. Most cars pretty thoughtful. Roads are varying from fantastic to pretty rough. The top experience was the trip to Cliffs of Moher - simply stunning!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cycle tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Just completed the Connemara Express self guided tour brilliantly organised and supported by Nathan and the team at West Ireland Cycling. Great B&Bs, decent bikes and a helpful team organising our transfers etc. Great holiday.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Perfect bike trip in Connemara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2016

We rented two bikes for 8 days and cycled 250km in Connemara. The bikes and equipment were great and Liam and his team were more than helpful regarding the itinerary, restaurants, hostels and nice camping spots. Couldn't ask for more, these guys were awesome. I hope we'll have the chance to come back next year for more.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Mariehoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent Self-Guided Solo Cycle Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2016

The service provided by the staff at West Ireland Cycling was excellent. The bike was a very new and reliable Trek. The bed and breakfasts arranged for me were comfortable, the breakfasts were filling, and the hosts welcoming. The routes recommended were suited to my level and breathtakingly beautiful. My first solo bike adventure was so well-supported yet independent, and even the Irish weather cooperated! I was thrilled with this adventure!

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank mgummingermsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Ireland Cycling also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to West Ireland Cycling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing