We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Flannery's Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$211
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Maldron Hotel Galway(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,904)
Filter reviews
1,904 results
Traveller rating
727
599
356
151
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
727
599
356
151
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubconnaught hotelleisure centrebusy hotelfamily hotellarge hotelswimming poolfamily breakbar foodlovely hotelreception staffeyre squarefood was lovelygalway cityfew drinkslast weekendboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1,904 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Stayed for a night over the Easter holidays with our 3 year old. Great hotel for families. Made to feel very welcome by all of the staff.
The rooms were nice, good size, bathrooms a little small but all clean.
Excellent swimming pool area. Large enough that even in school holidays it wasn't uncomfortably busy.
Enjoyed an evening meal in the bar, great atmosphere. Food a little boring but tasty and cooked well. Good kids menu.
Breakfast was good, we must have arrived early so no queues and full buffet with everything you could imagine.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jo_2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and we look forward to seeing you back at The Connacht again soon,

Warm regards

Mark Cronin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Nice hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was fine, quiet, comfy bed, nice bathroom (though toilet didn't flush very well). I really liked the fact that we could open the window slightly to let in some fresh air. We did not take breakfast and I was happy we decided not to as the queues were just incredible every morning for breakfast. Also, was not so keen on the dining area, there are no windows and it is right by the bar. We did have dinner there one night and it was nice, prices are very reasonable. The hotel was very busy, lots of families with children. Location is very good for Galway city, nice easy walk.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Angela,

Thank you for sharing your balanced feedback on your recent stay with us.
I was pleased to note that our staff made a positive impression. Your comments regarding our facilities are appreciated and we hope to see you in The Connacht again soon,
Warm regards
Mark Cronin
Deputy GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel is super, rooms spotless, food super, staff friendly, gym & pool Great, I will return to this hotel again be for the end of the year, stayed 3 nights and was gutted leaving it, my 7 year old loved the kids club and it give me a wee break to enjoy the restaurant & a few drinks, recommend to anyone

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Sharon,
Thank you very much for your generous feedback.It was particularly pleasing to hear that your family enjoyed your Easter break in The Connacht.
Again thank you for your review and your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon,
Warm regards
Mark Cronin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Connacht.
At the outset it’s worth pointing out that this is an absolutely huge hotel that is extremely busy. At times the place felt like an airport terminal rather than a hotel given the volume of people on site. So if you’re after a quiet break,this may not be the hotel for you.
The place has the feel of a property that has outgrown the facilities the bar and foyer area can provide. Huge queues of up to 20 minutes for breakfast are treated as the norm. Would it not be worth using one of the function rooms close to the dining areas for especially busy weekends rather than having large queues forming in the morning when people are hungry (and grumpy)?
The swimming pool is excellent although the ladies changing area was very cold.
We also found it difficult to get a constant flow of hot water in our room,which even though was billed as a superior family room we found to be quite small.
We also had to wait for over an hour to check in to our room,even though it was 4:30 before we arrived.
The staff are superb and very friendly, with the food being average hotel fare.
The Hotel has the potential to be a terrific place,but is let down by small things


Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Zooprune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very balanced review of your recent stay, It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.
Your comments have been shared with the parties concerned.
I was particularly pleased to note that our staff made an impression during your stay.
Once again thank you for your review and we hopefully will see you at The Connacht again soon,
Warm regards
Mark Cronin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here Easter weekend with family and unfortunately I could not recommend this hotel pricy for what it is, it was over sold so then staff were going around like headless chickens breakfast can only be described as a cattle mart and as for some of there guests

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank batesjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay. I was disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your visit and would very much like to get further details on your experience particularly regarding the mix of guests.
I can be contacted at mcronin@theconnacht.ie
Looking forward to hearing from you,
Regards
Mark Cronin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews