We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An o.k stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed in this hostel with a group. While the rooms were clean and comfy we were never told about the no alcohol rule until we arrived. Any alcohol in our rooms unopened or otherwise was taken by the cleaners, they even searched through a girls bag to find it. I don't think any hostel no matter how nice, should think it's ok to search through people's belonging's.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dlax2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepzone2011, Manager at Sleepzone Hostel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

We did not search anyone's belongings !

It's disappointing that Trip Advisor seems to allow anyone to say anything at anytime without any verification with management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 238 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

Had a wonderful stay in Sleepzone this weekend. Staff were excellent and had great knowledge of the area, particularly Stephanie, who knows galway like the back of her hand!! Pleasant woman, well able to hold her own and lay down the law when necessary! Overall, everyone enjoyed their stay!! Thanks to Sleepzone and Steph!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdjk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed here for one night in April. It was a weekend so it was very busy, as were all hostels in Galway. It's a decent hostel. The staff was friendly.

My biggest gripe was that my room didn't have lockers for my stuff (though you can rent lockers in the lobby, but it's inconvenient to go all the way down there).

The place was crowded and the breakfast area was full of tables squeezed together. Does its job, but I've been to hostels whose common areas are much more inviting and open to the solo traveler wanting to meet new people (more open space is what I crave...this is a personal preference so if you're like me you might feel the same). This would be a good place to go with groups. I saw several groups from different countries and they were having a blast. People with accents, from Germany, from France. Many cool travelers come here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triad47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed here with a friend in a 6 person room. The beds were comfortable and lockers were available downstairs. The kitchen was really nice too as was the dining area and the lounge. My only problem wasn't actually with the hostel itself but rather the other people staying with us. There were some really annoying French girls who kept coming in and out of room and the bathroom connected to our room had paper thins walls so even someone just turning on the faucet in the middle of the night was obnoxiously loud. The staff was really friendly and the location of the hostel is right off a few streets with restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alionr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is a hard one to write. From what I remember of my first impressions, there was little to nothing to complain about. A very nice kitchen area, good showers, and clean facilities all around. The staff were mostly very helpful, except for one woman who just seemed like she was having the worst day of her life.

The problem I had was with my roommates. I needed a place to stay for a night before heading off to the Aran Islands in the morning. I figured I would go with something cheap, and I'm not easily bothered by limited space, so I took a room in a five person dorm. A good proportion of the hotel guests were quite young, so I guess everything that happened from this point was to be expected.

I go to bed at 11:30, but I have still never even seen my roommates. All the other beds are filled, so I leave on one of the lights above the other beds (a great idea to have individual lights for each bed), so that they'll be able to see when they get home. They barge in completely drunk at 3 AM, and are laughing like hyenas, and then ate crackers for about 30 minutes (you're technically not allowed eating in the room). They kept daring each other to do something to me - I still don't know what it was, but I pretended I was asleep so that they would try something, and I'd have a reason to get them kicked out of there.

Obviously this is not going to happen to everyone, but the thing is, there are many B&Bs around Galway for similar prices. I stayed in one the next night, and it was 1000x better quality, a single room, and only 10 euros more. No reason to risk it if you're over 21.

Room Tip: Not the dorms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terryhbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 km away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#6 of 46 in Galway
2,076 reviews
8.3 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#2 of 60 in Galway
630 reviews
0.7 km away
Barnacles Hostel Galway
0.4 km away
Snoozles Hostel
Snoozles Hostel
#6 of 60 in Galway
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepzone Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Address: Bothar Na Mban | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range: €14 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepzone Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepzone is Galway's leading hostel for over a decade. Much imitated but still not matched! Leading hostel in Galway on TripAdvisor. Clean, safe, friendly - and always great value for money. Daily discounted tours to Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher with Galway Tour Company departing from our front door daily. Free internet and Free Wifi (with international socketing). Superb, fully-equipped self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sleepzone Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing