We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast in town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devondell

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Devondell
Ranked #82 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

My wife and stayed with Berna in her well maintained home last month. She was most helpful in many ways. Her Breakfast was one for the books. Plenty to eat and excellent.

When we first arrived, she gave us an option of what we wanted for the main course and was told us the balance would be on her table. I was a little disapointed in hearing this as I assumed that the "balance would be toast and perhaps some juice. It is much much more. Fresh baking and fruit as well as toast and juice. She is one great cook.

Our room was small, but the bed comfortable. The bathroom shower was too small to take a shower, but we were there only for one day, so it was not a problem. I will take a small bathroom for a grand breakfast. You should as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
89
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Devondell may be a bit tricky to find (but what isn't with Irish roads driven by an American), but it's worth the trip. Located near the end of a cul-de-sac, it provided our family with a welcome respite as Berna makes you quickly feel right at home. We can echo other reviewers is saying the breakfast spread which includes associated fruits, breads, muffins and yogurt followed by choice of "gourmet" entrees means you never leave Devondell hungry in the morning. Her recommendation to visit Connemara vs. Aran Islands when the weather was a bit iffy worked up well. In addition, her knowledge of local restaurants (we loved the local Italien place you can walk to) and even places to park for free near downtown Galway proved spot on and very helpful. Only issue we experienced on our visit was the shower in one of our bedrooms lacked hot water, but this will not deter us from including Devondell on our next Irish vacation itinerary.

Room Tip: Select the yellow bedroom on 2nd floor in the back as bathroom is very spacious by European standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnG_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

What a treat. Yes the rooms were wonderful and yes the position is excellent however it is Berna herself who is the real find here. Within minutes of meeting her we were all in fits of laughter and felt like we had known her for years. The breakfast will stay in my memory for a long time, homemade cakes and bread served in a lovely sunny room facing the garden. Berna thank you for making our time in Galway so special.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanHobart_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We loved our time in Galway and staying at Devondell was a big part of this. Berna welcomed us when we arrived early, made up the fire and served tea and scones. Devondell is an easy 15-20 minute walk to downtown.The breakfasts were wonderful, homemade and creative. The room was clean, comfortable and homey. Berna makes you feel like she genuinely enjoys her guests. This is what staying at a B&B should be like!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanb2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is a delightful place to stay right outside of the heart of Galway. It is quiet and clean and Berna is the most wonderful hostess to her guests. She is always there to give you a helping hand and provide you with whatever you need. The bus into Galway center is steps from her house but this neighborhood is also a fun place to relax and go out for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulupink2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.4 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.9 km away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.5 km away
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 51 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.6 km away
Lawndale B&B
Lawndale B&B
#78 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.5 km away
B&B Glenariff
B&B Glenariff
#58 of 197 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devondell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devondell

Property: Devondell
Address: Devondell 47 Devon Park, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Devondell Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing