We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$226
Hotels.comUS$226
TravelocityUS$226
Orbitz.comUS$226
Agoda.comUS$149
PricelineUS$166
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
44
5
14
10
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
44
5
14
10
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant elephant castle smeg fridge food cocktails cute hotel girls night the penthouse from start to finish next morning boutique hotel comfortable bed front desk staff city centre sophies bedding mirror ireland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2022

So disappointing, 2 restaurant and neither can cater for ppl with allergies

Staying tonight... Deliveroo to the rescue for dinner.
Neither Sophie's roof top or elephant and castle could provide an allergy safe meal.. poor form... Poor management. Poor training

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Orla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2022

Orla, I am really sorry about this and I will follow up with the team. We can of course cater for guests with allergies, we can't however guarantee that all items used in our kitchen are completely allergen free if they are not prepared onsite here. We can adapt dishes on the menu to make them suitable for allergy sufferers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2022 via mobile

Sexy, modern, comfortable. The hotel is new and stunning. Pretty restaurants. In a quiet part city centre.

The hotel room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. The tv was big and had lots of channels. The bed and bedding were super, towels were fluffy.

Reception staff was professional and friendly. Shout out to Matthew at the front desk who was helpful and lovely.

I’ve stayed in several city centre hotels the last few years and this was by far the best. Excellent value.

Highly recommend for families, couples or with friends. I’ll be back.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tara-QueensNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2022

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback Tara!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2022 via mobile

Great location, very high tech rooms , Smeg Fridge ,interesting retro decor an experience . We booked on booking. Com but the Dean surpassed expectations plus on booking we got a great price! Under 130 euros
Must go to Sophia's roof top restaurant .
A destination not just a hotel!

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2022

Thank you so much for the great feedback Robert :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2022 via mobile

My mum and I came to the Dean and we’re given the ‘best’ superior room - 223. The noise was ridiculous and at 1am we gave up trying to sleep and I complained to be told they get complaints weekly about the room - why they were still allocating it I have no idea! They couldn’t move us due to being at capacity. Didn’t sleep a wink, unhelpful staff who couldn’t care less.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank D8045KGlaurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2022

Hi Laura,

Whilst we were unable to move you to another room in the same room category at the time when you complained about the noise, I personally responded to your follow up email in the early hours of the morning and offered complimentary breakfast as an apology.


We specifically allocated 223 to you as this room is one of the largest Super rooms in the hotel with the addition of the small seating area. We noted the request on the booking that you were celebrating a special birthday for your mum which is why we allocated one of our best rooms and put a welcome card with birthday message and skelligs chocolate in the room as a little treat for her.

223 is located at the back of the hotel away from our terrace areas, reception area and the road to the front of the hotel where there can potentially be noise. 223 is not a room that we receive noise complaints about. We are a City Centre property and whilst we allocated you a room away from all obvious noise sources there was still some external noise which disrupted your sleep. Our location is predominantly residential housing, with only one pub close by so our main noise issue tends to be slight traffic noise at the front of the hotel.

To say that the staff here are unhelpful and could care less is not true - thought went into the allocation of your room, the welcome gift for your mum and we did follow up with your complaint regarding the noise and offered breakfast for 2, at the cost of €50 on the house as an apology.

Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2022 via mobile

Do you happen to travel with luggage or clothes? Sorry. You get four hangers to hang your clothes in the hallway outside the bathroom. No shelves. No drawers. No cupboard. (The staff told me, a bit sheepishly, that the lack of space for clothing was a “deliberate design choice.”Huh.). There’s a folding luggage rack that will take up 25% of the available floor space. Too bad if you and your traveling companion each has a suitcase.

Want to use the desk? Sorry. The hotel has filled the entire desk space with a “cool” record player so you can enjoy a couple of random LPs, along with a tacky faux-vintage radio, a kettle and a coffee maker. They could have put some of those items on the shelf above the desk, but they are more interested in trying to make money by stocking the shelf with overpriced, random alcohol and snacks. (I note, also, that it is very inconsiderate to some travelers to put so much alcohol in the room. For those who are struggling with alcohol addiction, that is extremely unwise.)

Want a room that resembles the snack aisle if a 7-11? Good news- that’s exactly what the Dean’s rooms are!

Want privacy? Sorry. Your windows will look directly into the windows of the building next door and there are no shades. The only way to get privacy is to close the heavy black-out curtains so the room becomes a dimly-lit cave.

I’m told these “features” are geared towards young travelers. I think that’s insulting to young travelers.

Want reliable Wi-Fi? Sorry. It’s spotty at best. I had to use my personal hotspot on my phone in order to have consistent service.

In short, the Dean is an excruciatingly bad hotel. We left after one night of our expected 4-night stay. On the positive side, the front desk personnel are very nice.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gail415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2022

Thanks for your feedback Gail, we are really disappointed that The Dean was not for you. To say we are an "excruciatingly bad hotel" is a little bit harsh and stems from a personal disliking of the decor and design of the rooms. Most guests choose The Dean because they like overall vibe of the hotel, the design, decor and a choice of really great food and drink outlets.

We do not have traditional wardrobes or chests of drawers - we have an open wardrobe of hanging rails and 4 hangers is standard in the rooms but we can provide more on request.

With regards to the desk space, we will happily remove any items that you do not need to create more space. Our rooms come as standard with some really great perks - a record player and records - there are more available at the reception if the selection in the room isn't your jam, a top of the range Marshall Bluetooth speaker (we believe this to be the "tacky faux retro radio" mentioned) and Nespresso machine. We do have an extensive mini bar and munchie selection which is one of the quirky features of our rooms however we can remove this and empty the fridge should you want the extra space or want the room to be free of alcohol.

We are completely different to all the other hotels in Galway and many of our guests choose to stay with us for this very reason.

I hope that you found a hotel located nearby that was more suitable for your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews