We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flannery's Hotel Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed here with some friends over the weekend of November 18/19/20, to see the Heineken Cup match between Connacht and Toulouse. The rooms were very clean and tidy; staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast kept us going until well into the afternoon! Overall, great value for money adn will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcOPolo2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    410
    205
    75
    49
See reviews for
246
429
67
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I travelled here with my boyfriend in July. At first we found it difficult to find the hotel but once found we realised it's very close to the centre and simple to find really!!!(5min drive)
We stayed for two nights. The bed was very comfortable, we were expecting a double but got a king =)) The rooms are very clean and have a kettle for tea/coffee.

Our first night we ordered pizza(orders taken 'til late), it was a great price at €10 and they made it half&half of what i wanted and what himself wanted(very impressed since it was late at night).

I brought cereal with me for breakfast and got milk delivered by room service the following morning. Was pleasantly surprised to hear it was free of charge =)
We ate in the restaurant one night and all thought it was of fantastic taste i thought is was a little steep in price. But still, very nice.

Highly recommend this hotel as i found the staff, rooms and food to all be fantastic!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room off the ground floor as ours had a wall as a view.. But if it is a ground floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1272011l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

The hotel in general was average, but really overpriced for the quality. First, the staff did not say hello or greet us unless we stood right up to the desk and appeared to want something. But they were friendly once they acknowledged us. The lobby is beautiful as well.

But for the rooms, I was disappointed. The beds were okay. There was a large fold in the carpet in the middle of the room, which we forgot about and tripped over a couple of times. There was a sign in the room that said that the hotel was not responsible for stolen items in your room. There was a safe, but I mean other hotels address this issue by encouraging you to use the safe and store your valuables. The way they addressed this in the sign just gave us the impression that either they have had issues with this in the past or have little trust in their housekeeping staff. In the bathroom, one of the towels was thinning out and the edges were frilled and coming apart (see picture). I have never come across something like that before, and thought it was completely unacceptable for a place like this and for as much money as they are charging. And the water constantly changed from scalding hot to ice cold every 5 seconds.

When we told the staff about this problem, they handled it well. They seemed like they were going to do something about it and also gave us a new room. The new room was a lot nicer than the first one. My only complaint was that the bedsheets had 3 stains on them.

Overall, the hotel was decent but the quality of the rooms were very poor for the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Not much more to add
Room was nice enough, staff were very good.
Food was good but the cooked element of the breakfast was sometimes ropey.

The corridors on the lower floors looked a bit more worn so i'm guessing some of the hotel is less smart than others...........

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonyschn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

ok here we go... in room its 4 in morning rad starts going mad making noises keeps us up. ring reception they do nothing. next night we are in bed it happens again so we go mad. ring reception and they move us to a new room, which was worse. creeks all over television making noises, alarm going off, total horror we got no sleep. if you are looking for sleep this hotel is not for you. STAY AWAY. only good thing is food was nice.

Room Tip: dont even stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eug j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
2.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.2 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,604 reviews
5.9 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.3 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flannery's Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flannery's Hotel Galway

Property: Flannery's Hotel Galway
Address: Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Flannery's Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flannery's Hotel is Galway's finest family run hotel. Facilites include 134 modern luxurious Bedrooms, Frankie's Bar & Bistro, The Galwegian Restaurant and 4 purpose built conference suites. The hotel offer free on-site car-parking and free Wi-fi throughout.The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Galway City and the famous attractions of the West of Ireland including; Connemara, the Aran Islands, the Burren & the Cliffs of Moher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Flannery's Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galway
Galway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing