We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like 2 places in one”

An Pucan Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Bars & Pubs in Galway
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Irish, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: An Pucan is now open off Eyre Square. We have live music daily from 9pm. On Fridays and Saturdays we have live bands down the back and on Saturdays we have a late night resident DJ. We are known for our remarkable whiskey collection with over 180 different whiskies from around the world. It is a must-visit for all whiskey enthusiasts. We offer an exceptional Food Menu for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Whether you are a tourist looking to experience an Irish Breakfast or some great fresh seafood or a local looking for fantastic lunch time value, we have it all. The large menu in An Pucan does not mean a sacrifice in quality so you will not be disappointed. Sports is our passion: Rugby, Soccer, GAA, NFL, Golf, MMA, Ice Hockey, Cricket, Snooker, Sailing, Europeans, Olympics, anything and we mean anything tickles our fancy! We have two large drop down projector screens, and 5 plasmas throughout the venue so no matter where in An Pucan you are standing or sitting we have you covered. Smoking Areas, Dj's, Jameson Features (our Stairway to Heaven & Jameson Piano are both famous) Signed Guitars, Friendly Staff, Craft Beer, Coffees, Teas, Craic.... We have it all! Drop us a visit and if you enjoyed your time please give us a review!
Reviewed 17 July 2019 via mobile

Went to this pub at the recommendation of a tour guide for its whiskey assortment and good Irish music. Walked in and it looks like a traditional Irish pub with live traditional music. Crowded so we kept walking back into the pub and fin as lily found seating in a courtyard. The courtyard and rear of the pub was like any 21st century club anywhere in Europe or USA. Contemporary music blaring (rap) and a young crowd. Great if that's what you're looking for. We self-ordered drinks and chili cheese nachos. The later was mediocre.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Hikerwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2019

Looking for a place to watch the Woman's World cup soccer we went to Au Pucan. We watched the game from the big screen while enjoying a beverage. The pub was crowded and the drinks were self service. As soon as the game was over, the music began.
After the game we stayed for dinner and our server was friendly. The menu was traditional Irish pub fare...decent portions and reasonable prices.
The flowers outside the door are beautiful and draw you inside.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GeorgiaTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2019

My husband & I went to dinner at this pub at the recommendation of our Petra House B & B host, Joan. It was the perfect place to have dinner and a pint and enjoy some traditional Irish music. We liked it so much that we ate dinner at An Pucan every night while we were in Galway. It was always busy but people were friendly and the staff were awesome. The food was delicious! It was a five minute or so walk from our B & B.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank DeJ1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2019 via mobile

Ignorant bouncers who really need to get their little egos checked.
Besides that the pub was nice, food nice good atmosphere. Just left a sour taste after a (sober) encounter with one of bouncers, the others knowing 1st was wrong just turned a blind eye..

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank billpA1387RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2019

We were so ready to eat dinner and stay for music and drinks. We moved to a different table when asked and immediately placed our food orders. Our food came prior to our drinks and we never saw our original waitress once we ordered the food. We were ignored while we ate and I didn't get the chance to order a drink. I ordered Irish stew and every bite of meat had fat in it. My mom's battered cod had the skin on (that's just not done). The waitress stopped by and took our plates but didn't come back again. I was tempted to leave without paying. Typically we tip 20%, however this time we did not tip. Our tip for you, don't go to the back bar for food! If you can't sit up front near the music, take a pass on this place.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank desirees667
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed An Pucan Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to An Pucan Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.