We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming Function Meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This review will not be relevant to those who are looking to spend a night at this hotel, but rather for those who are seeking to go to or to book a function, such as the one that I attended a few days ago. The Radisson Blu Hotel in Galway is located close to the city centre, yet in a commercially secluded location: a 300 metre walk from the closest shopping street. It has an individual courtyard entrance which is impressive for cars and taxis dropping off guests, and a spacious and airy reception area, which was ideal for our ‘cava’ reception on the night. This introduction was the highlight of the night, with the ladies in their finery and the gentlemen smartly attired in tuxedos introducing each other, while a pianist was tinkling jazz on the ivories and a trumpeter accompanied him with aplomb. We were escorted to the main ballroom while the large number of attendees awaited their meal. It is from this point that things started to go wrong. It took some time before the soup course emerged: such that the guests were gnawing the bread rolls before it arrived. It was served in ragged order, with ten minutes between the first and last serving. The soup was delicious, but it was a meagre portion, served in tiny bowls. The main course was basic fayre: chicken and gravy, with mash formed in a mould, small portions of green beans broccoli and garlic-free potato dauphinoise. The course was a miniscule serving, lingering lonely on a large plate, upon which it was plated some time past, and kept warm in an oven. There were no extra helpings of anything: vegetables or meat, and the courses were served at different times to parts of different tables. The dessert was five profiteroles, again on a large plate, and lightly drizzled with chocolate sauce from a tube. The meal was washed down with unaccompanied tea and coffee.
The food service and quality provided was clearly of an unacceptable standard for a hotel of this standing. Many guests went to a lot of effort and considerable expense, into making this a special night. Anyone who is considering this hotel for a wedding or a special occasion should do so with caution, and perhaps negotiate guarantees from the management that their special day will not be marred by similar shortcomings.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandGeorgeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,043 - 2,047 of 2,643 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just keeps getting better. HUGE hotel, yet manages to stay friendly. All the staff from the front desk, manager to the chambermaids. And after running 13 miles the sauna, the steamroom, the pool, the clean white towels. Just slightly off Eyre's Square so your in the centre but not in the thick of it when you just want to put the head down. I'll be back again next year.And the best part it's really good value for a hotel with all those stars

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galwayradissonblu, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Guest,
First of all may I congratulate you on completing the 13 mile Connemara run, well done! It was such a beautiful day.
Secondly, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing report on our hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards,
Louise O'Hara
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband, four year old and myself travelled to Galway on th 17th March for two nights. We got a great deal with the Radisson Blu. They had a Paddys Weekend special for two nights B&B. The hotel is 5 mins walk from the train and bus stations. Also only 5 mins from Eyre Square. Very central. We had two wonderful meals in the hotel. The food was very good. There was an early bird option. The staff were so friendly and couldnt do enough for you. The spa and pool are brilliant!! A big pool great to tire out a four year old!!! We really had a lovely weekend and I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone. I will certaintly be back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babsy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galwayradissonblu, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your family weekend getaway.
It is always great to hear that the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway has something to offer all the family.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Thank you again,
Best regards,
Louise O'Hara
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel quite awhile back with my boyfriend, never got around to actually writing the review, even though I always do. The hotel is great, the architecture is impressive. Hotel is very clean, you want to be careful though if you are a girl, not to wear a skirt when travelling in the lift! (glass lift) :) The rooms are quite spacious and very bright. The bar has a nice atmosphere, although we only had couple of drinks there, the prices weren't very high. The only thing is (as for myself) that the entrance to the hotel is a bit in the back, therefore I'd be scared to walk alone in the dark. As far as the car park goes, I am not sure, but we did pay quite a lot for it and after paying we were informed we could have gotten it validated. After all i'd still go back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeekingForExcellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galwayradissonblu, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on our hotel.
We were delighted to read that both you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for the great review of the Hotels Architecture. The Radisson Blu strives to be rich in design and style, with contemporary furniture, interiors, architecture so your comments are very much appreciated.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Louise O'Hara
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I'm very lucky to have the Radisson Blu as my company's preferred hotel in Galway. I sleep better here than nearly anywhere in the world, probably because the hotel windows open and the breezes off the bay are lovely.

The rooms are spacious, clean, updated and the beds are very comfortable. Room service is good with lots of 24 hour selections. The restaurants are excellent from the breakfast buffet and Market lunch to the very special dinners. I also became a major fan of the scones in the Atrium Lounge. No wonder none of my clothes fit anymore!

I was here over St. Paddy's Day and the hotel was buzzing! I've also stayed here during Christmas and during the World Series of Poker. No matter how full the hotel is, the service is always impeccable. This staff is friendly, knowledgable and go out of their way to make you feel like home. I arrived to a beautiful bottle of chilled white wine (with fresh ice - how do they do that?) and a nice selection of cupcakes.

I was here long enough this trip to get a massage in the spa, which was nice. Not like the fabulous Camelback Spa in Phoenix but nice enough to relieve some back pain. I always enjoy the thermal spa - just right for warming up no matter what the weather.

Don't hesitate - this is a great hotel and I always breathe a little deeper here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuAnn7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galwayradissonblu, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review, we were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway.
Thank you for your comments, it means a lot to us that you would take the time to share your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Louise O'Hara
Sales Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,107 reviews
3.3 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,375 reviews
1.1 km away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,897 reviews
1.6 km away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,711 reviews
7.8 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway

Address: Lough Atalia Rd, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Galway
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#17 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#17 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: €115 - €234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are guaranteed the best of all worlds when you stay at the luxurious four star Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Galway. Scenic Galway Bay views, luxury city centre hotel accommodation, excellent food, world class spirit one spa & leisure facilities, superb conference & meeting venue and elegant wedding facilities.Take advantage of some of Galway's great shopping streets, making it easy to explore the area's best attractions and fit some shopping in along the way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Rezidor, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Galway
Radisson Hotel Galway
Radisson Galway
Galway Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Galway
Radisson Sas Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing