We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The best way to see the coast!

My wife and I decided to book a private tour with Jim after doing research. We definitely did not... read more

Reviewed 3 December 2019
ryanb726
Fabulous Two Days Touring With Ireland West Tours!

We toured with Jim Parslow and Ireland West Tours for two days in September. Everything about our... read more

Reviewed 28 October 2019
jenroths
,
Englewood, Colorado
Read all 109 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Galway
from US$692.36
More Info
from US$72.44
More Info
from US$42.26
More Info
from US$60.37
More Info
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
106
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
106
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour perfect answer jim connemara sights knowledge roads ireland itinerary moher cliffs cork coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We hired Jim Parslow and Ireland West Tours for a day tour of the Connemara region from Galway.

BOTTOM LINE UP FRONT: We really enjoyed our tour and would highly recommend anyone consider visiting the Connemara or other areas of Ireland to use Ireland West Tours.

A little background my fiancé and I are in our 30s. We wanted to maximize our time and see as much of the Connemara as possible covering the highlights and "get off the beaten path". Jim exceeded our expectations. We covered a wide range of scenery ranging from mountains, castles, meadows, bogs, rivers, oceans, cliffs, lakes, beaches, and a fjord. At times we felt like Jim was the "Mayor of Ireland" because of his connections with the local people and familiarity of the area.

Even though we had a rental car for our entire Ireland trip , it was nice to have Jim tour us around the area and not have to worry about driving while receiving background knowledge about the area, Irish culture, and different sites.

Jim was very accommodating and made sure we were meeting our goals of the tour. We really could not have efficiently or effectively covered as much territory or visited the places we saw without Jim's tour. As a couple examples he phoned a head and arranged a private castle tour for us, we drove down back roads to feed Connemara ponies, see true "Irish traffic jams" of cattle/sheep covering the road without any one else or surroundings nearby, made suggestions on photo stops, and served as our professional photographer. Jim really gave us a day of Irish culture immersion giving lots of background of the area, history, etc. We received more information than we had on any tour while in the country.

It's evident that Jim is passionate about Ireland, ensuring visitors maximize their experience while visiting the country, and caring about people. I think these characteristics along with our experience for the day really prove that visitors looking for a tour guide in Ireland should heavily consider booking with Ireland West Tours and Jim Parslow.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Manderson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Traveling with my husband, adult son and his college friend, we had 2 days in Galway, and only one to go sightseeing outside of town. I booked a day trip with Jim Parslow, and am so glad I did! Jim was punctual, kind, knowledgeable, and very perceptive in his ability to know just what would appeal to us as a group. While Jim did the driving, we were able to see the fantastic scenery, and he kept us entertained with his stories, history, and knowledge. Oh, did I mention he loves to take photographs, so no need for selfies, Jim takes all of the pictures, all you have to do is smile! We went places we never would have found, heard unique stories from people we never would have met, and had a fabulous day! Thank-you Jim, and stay well.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank lizd531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

My husband and I just returned from a month long vacation of Ireland and the UK and took many private tours. Jim's full day tour was by far the best of the best! Jim's passion for the area and sense of humor was evident as he shared his knowledge of history and folklore. He knew backroads and magical places that you'd never see a tour bus. He allowed us to set the pace and was so accommodating as I often asked to stop and photograph the amazing scenery. If we had known how wonderful a day with Jim would be, we would have booked another day as well. Book well in advance so you don't miss out on this experience!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank J_Dalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We travelled with another couple and had found Jim through TripAdvisor and booked him months ago. Could not heap enough praise or support of all the positive comments already posted. We had amazing weather which increased the choices that he gave us and for 2 full days, we saw everything we could have wanted and more. Jim knew all the places to go both on and off the beaten trail, he called ahead to determine the best timing for events requiring tickets or reservations or meal planning (great choices for pub meals) and provided us with insights into dinner and music after dropping us off at our B&B in Galway. Just a GREAT experience overall with a most delightful, knowledgeable and charming man.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We toured with Jim of Ireland West Tours and are so glad we did. He was prompt and organized. He suggested that we see the Cliffs of Moher from the water, and it was a wonderful experience. He took us to places we would never have seen on our own. The two 18-year olds traveling with us loved it all. Each new experience was their favorite. Thanks so much for a wonderful day.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank barbarabN3523JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews