We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The best way to see the coast!

My wife and I decided to book a private tour with Jim after doing research. We definitely did not... read more

Reviewed 3 December 2019
ryanb726
Fabulous Two Days Touring With Ireland West Tours!

We toured with Jim Parslow and Ireland West Tours for two days in September. Everything about our... read more

Reviewed 28 October 2019
jenroths
,
Englewood, Colorado
Read all 109 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Galway
from US$692.36
More Info
from US$72.44
More Info
from US$42.26
More Info
from US$60.37
More Info
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
106
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
106
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour perfect answer jim connemara sights knowledge roads ireland itinerary moher cliffs cork coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We have just returned from 3 wonderful days touring around western Ireland with Paul and we loved every minute of it. We wanted to see as much of western Ireland as we could without having to take a tour bus or drive ourselves around, and we knew right away that we had made a good choice by working with Jim and Paul.

Jim organized our time in Ireland, booked very nice accommodations for us, made suggestions as to how we could organize our time in the most efficient way and set everything up for us. Paul then met us at our B&B on the first morning, welcomed us and listened to us as we listed what was and was not important to us on this trip. To say that Paul was our driver and tour guide for the next three days does not do it justice as he was so much more than that. He is so knowledgeable about all the areas we visited, he spoke of the history of the areas, the political and social backgrounds and the natural wonders we saw.

Paul was very patient with all of our many questions and his quiet demeanor and good sense of humor made it easy for all of us to talk with him and ask questions. He was as good at talking with our young adult children (20 and 16) as he was at talking with us parents. Being able to talk with people of all ages and of varying interests is a talent and Paul is a master at it.

We saw so much in our 3 days, the Connemara area on day one, the Cliffs of Moher and the Burren area on the second day then on to the Ring of Kerry on day three. We never felt rushed or boxed into a set agenda and when we wanted to get out and hike around an area or linger a bit longer, there was never a problem with that. I can't think of a better way to see western Ireland than touring with Paul, and I know all four of us feel so lucky that we were able to do so.

Date of experience: December 2014
3  Thank norbertsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2014

My husband and I toured for 5 days with Ireland West Tours and had a fantastic time! We were so happy with our decision. We felt like we were able to pack so many wonderful places into 5 days -- Cliffs of Moher, Connemara, Dingle Peninsula, Ring of Kerry, and so many other small places that the buses would never go and many locals probably don't even know about. We ate all of our lunches in small pubs and restaurants filled with locals. We toured 2 days with Jim and 3 days with Paul. So many good memories! Thank you Jim for organizing!

Date of experience: November 2014
5  Thank RebBradAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We spent two days touring with Jim, but it was more like your knowledgeable family member showing you his local sites. Other than the obvious attractions such as Cliffs of Mohr, Jim took us off the beaten track to such sites as a fairy ring complete with the real history of these sites, to a small water fall where we watched salmon trying to jump up stream and then on to a post-lunch walk on a deserted beach with beautiful clouds overhead and then a quick stop in Connemara at a statue built for absolutely no reason. We had two wonderful days seeing some of the best of Ireland. Jim took into account my husbands love of golf, so we had lunch at a golf course on the ocean, and because he's a local he could share current history with us. He was also great at sharing gaelic and telling us what the words meant as well as helping us pronounce them. I thought we might be done with Ireland after 4 trips, but Jim showed us that there's still lots more to see, and we'll be back with Jim as our guide. Well worth every Euro spent!

Date of experience: October 2014
3  Thank janicemT7393KJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2014

Thanks to Tripadvisor we were so fortunate to find Jim Parslow and Ireland West Tours. Jim took my husband and I on a full day tour of the Burren. He was very personable, knowledgeable, and willing to accommodate any wishes we had. We especially enjoyed a quick stop at a local cheese/fudge shop - in fact we still have a little of the fudge in our fridge. We look forward to getting a copy of the photo's he took. I would highly recommend this private tour. Well worth the cost!! Michelle & Art, Hawaii, USA

Date of experience: September 2014
2  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Just returned from the most fabulous trip to Ireland...made fabulous by our tour guide, Jim Parslow, owner of Ireland West Tours.
From the moment Jim picked us up at the Shannon airport, he made us feel like family. He toured with us for six days! From the Killarney area, Dingle Peninsula, The Ring of Kerry, Galway, The Burren, South Connemara to North Connemara, we had the most in-depth tour. Jim is a most knowledgeable, patriotic and humorous guide, one that Ireland can be proud of! He took us to sites that we never would have seen from a bus, because they could not travel down the roads we went. He went out of his way to make sure we saw everything that we wanted to see and then some.
We will never forget our trip or Jim. We will definitely call Jim again for future visits!
Cathy & Joan, Michigan USA

Date of experience: September 2014
3  Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews