We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Experinece” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Mayo
1 review
“A Great Experinece”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed in the Galway Bay last weekend with my wife & 3 Children. We had a brillaint time from start to finish. The 2 older kids went to the kids club on Fri evening which gave us great time to relax & unwind and enjoy the great food in The Lobster Pot. The kids loved the club with the disco being a big hit! The hotel is perfectly located across from the prom and with the good weather we experienced was the icing on the cake. The staff were warm & welcoming and John in particular was there to assist. Our suite was spacious making it ideal for a family of 5+. I could not rave enough about our experience and service we received at The Galway Bay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear ‘GerryD130’,

Thank you most sincerely for this super review and thank you also for choosing to stay here recently. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and all on the team have requested that I pass on to you a very sincere thank you! John Fraser is also most pleased to be mentioned in such a positive manner through such a public medium – he certainly does make my job so much easier! I am delighted to read your feedback regarding the Penguin Kids Club – it certainly is receiving superb feedback consistently and as you know at this stage the range of activities and entertainment is vast – including the kids disco of course.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,897
    551
    255
    74
    40
See reviews for
789
982
102
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I can't really stress enough how delighted we were with the service and facilities offered to us by the Galway Bay Hotel. The conditions were excellent, the rooms great, the staff always friendly and extremely helpful! Organizing and running a conference is a stressful thing to do, but the support we received from the team before and during the event alleviated this to the highest degree possible. Thanks a lot from ASCOBANS!
The only downside: the airconditioning in the meeting room was a little too effective...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HFrisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear ‘HFrisch’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing the Galway Bay Hotel to host your recent conference and thank you also for this super feedback.

We are delighted that you had such a successful event here and your positive comments regarding the facilities on offer, the excellent service, the great conference rooms and the very helpful and extremely friendly staff are most welcome. I use feedback such as yours to aid me when it comes to motivating and encouraging the team to perform to the highest level consistently.

We are a very popular conference venue and receive very positive feedback similar to yours on a very frequent basis. As you are only too aware, we offer all of the ‘mod cons’ in terms of technology and IT such as Complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel, a complimentary PRINTME facility for all conference delegates and all of the other usual IT requirements associated with conferences of this nature – of course all of this is backed up by our in house conference co-ordinator on hand at all times.

Thank you again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I'm a repeat visitor and always enjoy my stay here. This time we spent 2 nights and loved it again. The bar has started a bar menu which is new. Had the cod & chips - it was delicious. The batter was nice and light and the portions were very generous. You won't need seconds!
Staff were warm and chatty, nothing new there and the entire place was spotless. Parking can be sparse but you will almost always find something towards the back of the underground carpark.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebelVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear ‘Rebelvisitor’,

Thank you for this super feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel on your trips to Galway. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit and your positive feedback is most welcome.

I am delighted that you had the opportunity to sample our new bar menu. This has been recently launched and like yours the feedback has been super to date. Our Executive Chef, Gavin says a very heartfelt thank you! We are delighted to read your comment regarding the Cod and Chips – this dish is going down a treat. I am also very happy to read that all of the staff were warm and chatty and that the bar was spotless.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Last week during the good weather I decided to call in to the new Harvest Cafe. I went for lunch with my husband, the food quality was amazing from the roast lamb and roast pork to the fresh vegetables dont usually get in a carvery. Wonderful selection of homemade pastries,and the best brown bread I ever tasted, sorry mum. Thank you to all the staff, we will back to try your new a la carte menu.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear ‘Mary27861’,

Thank you for this super feedback. I use comments such as this to help motivate and encourage the team to perform to the highest level consistently and all on the team have requested that I pass on to you a very sincere thank you.

We are delighted that you enjoyed dining in our new Harvest Café. As you are aware we have only launched it recently and the feedback we are receiving is fantastic. We look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Sincere regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBANY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here March 15-17, 2012 and loved it.
The staff is very friendly, the service is great, and the food is fantastic and the General Manager, Dan Murphy made us feel like we were the most important people who ever stayed there! What a great feeling! I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYretirednlovinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear ‘NYretiredlovinit’,

Thank you for this feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. All on the team are delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much. Your positive comments regarding the very friendly staff, the great service and the fantastic food is most welcome and I have passed this on to all on the team – all pass on to you a very sincere thank you. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back at some stage in the future.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
3.1 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
4.5 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
3.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.1 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
2.8 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Property: Galway Bay Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing