We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Never fails to disappoint” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never fails to disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I'm a repeat visitor and always enjoy my stay here. This time we spent 2 nights and loved it again. The bar has started a bar menu which is new. Had the cod & chips - it was delicious. The batter was nice and light and the portions were very generous. You won't need seconds!
Staff were warm and chatty, nothing new there and the entire place was spotless. Parking can be sparse but you will almost always find something towards the back of the underground carpark.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebelVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear ‘Rebelvisitor’,

Thank you for this super feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel on your trips to Galway. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit and your positive feedback is most welcome.

I am delighted that you had the opportunity to sample our new bar menu. This has been recently launched and like yours the feedback has been super to date. Our Executive Chef, Gavin says a very heartfelt thank you! We are delighted to read your comment regarding the Cod and Chips – this dish is going down a treat. I am also very happy to read that all of the staff were warm and chatty and that the bar was spotless.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,870
    543
    251
    74
    39
See reviews for
777
967
101
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Last week during the good weather I decided to call in to the new Harvest Cafe. I went for lunch with my husband, the food quality was amazing from the roast lamb and roast pork to the fresh vegetables dont usually get in a carvery. Wonderful selection of homemade pastries,and the best brown bread I ever tasted, sorry mum. Thank you to all the staff, we will back to try your new a la carte menu.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear ‘Mary27861’,

Thank you for this super feedback. I use comments such as this to help motivate and encourage the team to perform to the highest level consistently and all on the team have requested that I pass on to you a very sincere thank you.

We are delighted that you enjoyed dining in our new Harvest Café. As you are aware we have only launched it recently and the feedback we are receiving is fantastic. We look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Sincere regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBANY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here March 15-17, 2012 and loved it.
The staff is very friendly, the service is great, and the food is fantastic and the General Manager, Dan Murphy made us feel like we were the most important people who ever stayed there! What a great feeling! I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYretirednlovinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear ‘NYretiredlovinit’,

Thank you for this feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. All on the team are delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much. Your positive comments regarding the very friendly staff, the great service and the fantastic food is most welcome and I have passed this on to all on the team – all pass on to you a very sincere thank you. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back at some stage in the future.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

As always our stay in the Galway Bat salt hill was amazing. Relaxing and enjoyable. Comfortable beds beautiful views (from our upgraded suite!) were beautiful. The food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner was beautiful and the staff in particular Patricia were friendly and helpful at all times. Also we tried the bar food for the first time and were not surprised that it is as good as the lobster pot!
Galway Bay is without a doubt my favouite Irish hotel. It's staff from management to cleaners to receptionists are professional and eager to help each guest. Also they are experts in accommodating and treating return guests.
My husband and I go here at least once a year and will continue to do so for many years to come and recommend it to all for value for money, food, luxury and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear ‘CDPM’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel on all of your visits to Galway and thank you also for your very valued feedback.

All on the team are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us recently and your positive comments regarding the comfort of the hotel beds, the quality of the food throughout the hotel and indeed the professionalism are all very welcome. Your feedback regarding the comfort of the hotel bed is one I receive regularly – our numerous repeat and regular guests have nicknamed them ‘the heavenly beds’ such is the comfort. I am delighted that you enjoyed our new bar food menu which is receiving super reviews since we put it in place recently. Patricia is delighted to be mentioned in such a positive light through such a public medium and she passes on to you a very heartfelt thank you.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

we had a fabulous time staying at this hotel! the staff was extremely friendly and willing to accompany any needs! leisure centre was great,very relaxing! the rooms were all very clean and large! bar staff knew our round after just one time telling them,really did make it easier! breakfast was plentifull and a fantastic range of fruits,cereals,breads,and full irish breakfast! everything was great, staff seat you,offer toast ,tea and coffee and have it to your table within minutes! extremely helpfull! had dinner in the bar one night,excellent quality of food! had a walk along the promenade in the mornings,extremely beautiful,which was an extra bonus for the hotel. really would recommend this hotel to people of all ages!

Room Tip: every room is good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DominiQueConroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear ‘DominiQueConroy’,

Thank you for choosing the Galway Bay Hotel on your recent trip to Galway and thank you also for this super review.

Your positive comments regarding the extremely friendly staff, the leisure centre, the breakfast and the food along with the location of the hotel are all very welcome. We are delighted that you recommend this hotel to people of all ages and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back at some stage in the future.

Sincere regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
3.1 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
3.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.5 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.1 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
2.8 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#11 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Property: Galway Bay Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing