We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Eyre Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eyre Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Galway
County Kerry, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here last friend for a girly get a way. On booking I requested a quiet room out the back from reading previous reviews. Our room was on the 3rd floor no.315. Had no hassel wit noise only the seagulls in the morning! The hotel is literally right across from the bus/train station. It a 2min walk down to the pubs (5mins in heels!!)
We ate there one night and it was lovely and cheap. Staff were lovely and room was clean and sizeable. They held our luggage the morning we were leaving so we could do some shopping. Shower was a bit off running hot and cold on occasions. All in all great place to stay for a girly weekend or stag/hen do! It's cheap and does the job

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    192
    176
    77
    89
See reviews for
96
252
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

i went here with a group of stags in feb and it was class the receptionist was lovely and the bar is great craic would reccomend this hotel to anyone staying in galway.

Room Tip: ask for a room higher up as the music might bother you,but if you are in galway for the craic you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dcullen1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed for the weekend and was amazed by the friendly staff and how quiet the room was. The food was amazing and very cheap with a menu to suit everyone even my little sister who is a very picky eater. It is a stones throw from everything in Galway including a travel agent that does boats daily to and from the Aran Islands, the Pucan is just across the road and is a wonderfully traditional Irish pub and for the younger people there s a night club under the hotel (and we didnt hear a bit of noise from it all night). I would recommend it to people looking for a cheap and cheerful place to stay instead of going to a hostel (which is the same price). Really enjoyed my stay :)

Room Tip: Off the first floor and in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Many of the other reviews seem to sum up this hotel pretty well.

The location is undeniably excellent, just off Eyre Square adjacent to the bus and rail stations. The city centre is about five minutes walk away.

The rooms itself was reasonably comfortable, but it was at best out-dated and a bit shabby and at worst it could arguably have been cleaner. This said, the bed was fine, good shower, and nice to have tea and coffee making facilities.

I did not hear any noise from the nightclub. However, I was awoken at 4am by an astonishing amount of banging on some nearby door (maybe even mine) and was then kept awake by the next room having a rowdy conversation so maybe the walls are a little thin.

All in all, it was kind of OK for the (cheap cheap) price but I might look around if I were to return again. (The An Pucan bar opposite was excellent, incidentally.)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aber_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This isn't so much a hotel, as a stack of room built on top of a nightclub. Ok, it's not actually on Eyre Square (but it's close), but the location is great. However nothing else is. The staff look bored and couldn't care less. The rooms are basic but clean. However the noise is something else.

I stayed on the 4th floor and and around midnight the pipes above me in the attic started to rattle and shake. Within five minutes it was trying to sleep in the hold of a ship. Then the nightclub started up. I rang reception, but the man say he could do nothing. An hour later I asked to move rooms. The nightclub stopped at 2.30 am and when I went downstairs to get my key, reception was full of drunk kids. It was a Monday. In January. Stay clear.

Room Tip: Stay clear unless you are deaf or 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yezir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 46 in Galway
628 reviews
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
889 reviews
0.1 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#33 of 46 in Galway
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#34 of 46 in Galway
51 reviews
0.6 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
1,926 reviews
0.2 km away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 46 in Galway
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eyre Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eyre Square Hotel

Property: Eyre Square Hotel
Address: 35 Eyre Square | On the Corner of Eyre Square, Beside the Main bus and Rail Station., Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Eyre Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Eyre Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eyre Square Galway
Hotel Eyre Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing