We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were just passing through Galway for the night and needed a place close to the train station. I took a shot and booked the Victoria hotel, which had a pretty good rate of 50 euro for a double room. Located just around the corner from the station, it's right off Eyre Square and a quick walk to any number of great pubs and restaurants. It's also right across the street from where the bus picks up to take you to the Aran Island ferry.

It's an old hotel, squeezed into a corner, and you really don't get a proper view of it as you approach it from the train station,as it's quite hidden. You don't realize how big it is unless you're standing in front of it. When you walk in you do get the sense of being in one of those grand old hotels from years back - heavy wooden furniture and deep rich toned carpets.

The service was quick and friendly and the room was nice - very big and very clean, with a full bath bathroom. There's no key card, you get a proper key on a big key chain for your room. The tv was an older,non-flat screen model, and there weren't any other amenities such as a fridge. Though the bathroom was clean, it was a bit on the shabby side - there were some patches of paint peeling on the ceiling. The tub, the sink and the toilet were all modern appliances in pristine working condition.

We had no issues with noise disturbance,both inside and outside the hotel.

We didn't have the breakfast, though if you get the B&B deal you just pay an extra 10 for the two of you, and it looks like the buffet offers quite an extensive menu - great value compared to what we paid in a cafe nearby.

For the price and the location, I would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marichan623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 372 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

the parking is a pay and display that you have to top up when your time runs out so not the best.
room was very small. cold aswell until we fixed the heater ourselves. no fan in the bathroom so when you have a shower the whole walls, mirrors and floors are all wet and slippy. so have towels on the floor.
sleep was one of the worst iv had-light coming in from the curtains where one side didnt cover the whole window. the cleaner was hoovering at 9 right outside our door. could hear people next to us-talking, the television, etc.
not great channels on it but better than most.
disappointed no breakfast and the lift wasnt working which is disgraceful( what about the people in wheelchairs, with prams???) told them it was broken and she said i know printing signs now.. okay then. we had a better first experience there

Room Tip: dont go to 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed here for Valentine's night and it was lovely! The room was huge and very clean and so was the bathroom. Very spacious. The hotel was in a great location, right in the city centre but it was very quiet as well. No complaints really.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LemonHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A group of us stayed at the Victoria hotel on Friday 4th and Saturday 5th Feb this year , My best man chose the hotel. I had stayed there previously and it was a great stay but had been a few years ago ,
The rooms were very clean and spacious.
The hotel can also store your luggage free of charge upon check out if you want to go site-seeing before leaving :-)
This hotel is 5* for location alone walking distance from city centre.
Eyre square and train/bus station is 100 meters away from the hotel which was great as some of us got the train to galway so is right bang in the centre of Galway city,
The breakfast was Full Irish and was more than one could eat ,
The bar was nice and cosey bar staff very friendly/night porter
I would like to thank Mary and Caroline on front desk on behalf of every one in our group for a great stay and looking after all

John

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakar50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel is awful dirty cold uninvting the staff where cold. The bedrooms cold and and the windows in the room where open when we arrived to the room and the heater was hanging on the wall but not working late on Fri night Feb. Would not recomend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaroleF823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 km away
Forster Court Hotel
Forster Court Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
60 reviews
0.1 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
683 reviews
0.4 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
70 reviews
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,098 reviews
0.2 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#16 of 46 in Galway
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Victoria Hotel Victoria Place | off Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: €59 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing