We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
29
8
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
8
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews third floor living room yogurt burren cottage cliffs moran moher ireland
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Our group of five had an exceptional stay at Karen's castle and I cannot recommend it more!

We had nearly the entire castle to ourselves, save for the wings where Karen and her family live. We had five beds across two spotless, cosy bedrooms and a large bathroom with a bathtub, complete with beautiful views of the surrounding landscape. The living rooms and dining rooms had a classic character, with arrays of family heirlooms and historical trinkets decorating every nook and cranny (even some stone walls dating back to the 14th century!).

Upon arrival, Karen showed us around and detailed the castle's impressive history. At night, Karen was kind enough to light up a fireplace for us and provide board games. In the morning, we enjoyed our breakfast nibbles while sitting on the river-side patio and basking in the tranquility of the castle grounds.

This castle is a gem and excellent value for money.

It is located in a small, sleepy town with few services, so if you're looking for a lively night out it is better to have a car to drive to Galway city.

Tip: try the fresh seafood at nearby Maron's restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

As a family we were keen to experience staying in a castle. On arrival we were greeted by Karen the owner who showed around our spacious accommodation. We were slightly late and she was very good about it. We had the full use of several reception rooms including a library, tv room or the big drawing room with its large fireplace complete with roaring fire and. At the top of the turret we had two bedrooms with bathroom. Everything was clean and tidy, loads of towels and toiletries and quite sufficient for our one night stay. Karen had laid out everything in the kitchen we needed for our breakfast, cereals, bread, jams, yogurt and even croissants. It all felt very comfortable like a home from home. We would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank Bernie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I've visited Ireland four times in as many years, and I always book a few nights at Kilcolgan Castle. Most recently, my entire family came along, including our three kids. They loved exploring the castle's many rooms, checking out the grounds, and playing with the dogs. I enjoyed retreating to the cozy sitting room, and reading by the fire. As always, Karen was a welcoming host and cooked a wonderful spread for us. Love staying here because it's a castle -- the real deal -- with the comforts of modern life.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We really enjoyed staying in a castle while in Ireland! It's close to Galway, and the countryside there is just beautiful. Karen was kind enough to make dinner reservations for us at an amazing restaurant, where we had delicious drinks and seafood. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay at The castle - the grounds are beautiful and our host, Karen, was very friendly and welcoming. We spent a lovely night in beside the fireplace reading up on the history of the grounds and the castle itself and searching through the library - so much history here . Our host also arranged a nice dinner out at local seafood restaurant nearby (Moran's).
It was a great way to end our trip. Next time we'll be sure to bring the kids - they would have loved it!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank birdiek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews