We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be lucky to find better”

The Galleon Restaurant
Ranked #68 of 542 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Blending the tradition of the old with a feeling for the new, the Galleon has been serving 5 million satisfied customers ever since it opened 45 years ago.An institution in Salthill, it takes pride in its friendly, experienced staff and its newly refurbished premises, to offer you an exceptional dining experience.With our extensive menu, we have something for everyone, be it a fussy child, a meat lover or a gourmet eater with a refined taste. Our scrumptious selection of food includes hearty meats, delicate fish, light salads, creamy pasta and indulgent desserts. We also have gluten- free options for coeliacs and vegetarian specialities.We keep our young guest entertained with crayons and pictures to colour in, while their parents enjoy a relaxing three-course meal. We also cater for parties of up to 30 people in our devoted function room. Whether you come for leisure, to enjoy a tea and scone with friends, or for work, to avail of our free high-speed Wifi.
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Amazing service and food. Homemade good size portions. Stayed in Galway for 3 days and went everyday. If you find fault there's something wrong. The fish and chips are mouthwatering.

Date of visit: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Death by chocolate is what always brings me back here. The dinner has always been delicious too. Very consistent

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Gaillimh1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

The Galleon was recommended by our nearby accommodation and did not let this recommendation down.

Providing a pleasant dining environment, the wait-staff were excellent.

The menu is Irish-based, has a wide range of dishes and offered good value.

As a coeliac there was a good selection of gluten free options. Servings were generous portions.

I had the roast of the day and my wife had the seafood chowder. Both dishes were good.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank bobjanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

we eat here quite a bit its a very restaurant right throughout the day so its adviseable

to book or else you will be in along queue especially during the summer months

the food is excellent with something for everybodys taste buds the staff are pleasant

@helpful even when its mad busy if in salthill at any time of the year its well worth a visit

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank esmcdermott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

We arrived here on a busy lunchtime, and they had no problem finding a seat for us, the staff were lovely and very courteous to an elderly relative we had with us, this meant alot. The food was gorgeous

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 457AntoinetteH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Galleon Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Galleon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing