We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Quality food”

Gourmet Tart Company
Ranked #2 of 13 Dessert in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$14
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Value Quality food”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Went on the back if the tripadvisor #1 ranking. We had the full Irish breakfast this morning and it was lovely, staff were friendly, the food excellent and a nice clean environment. Watch out for the trip advisor map, it has the wrong location by about 1km. told the staff and reported on trip advisor app so hopefully between them it will be corrected.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnceBittenTwiceShy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    220
    67
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Busy spot. Tried to get a table before and was too busy so left but this time we were lucky enough to get a table.Myself, husband and son visited one Sunday afternoon. Husband ordered the battered fish, he asked if it was fresh and waitress laughed and said yes so not really sure if it was fresh fish or not. 
My son also got the fish and chips from the kids menu which he ate up! ( although he seemed to enjoy more the skinny chips that were on my plate!). His chips also came out salted which i didnt really like. I wouldnt normally add additional salt to his dinner as hes a bit young.

I had the cajun chicken burger which was fab...it was served with a little bucket of skinny chips, side salad and a pineapple relish...very taste indeed.
For desert i had some sort of chocolate cake which was fab and my husband had a rhubarb tartlet crumble. He thought it was nice but it had very little filling and was all crumble...could of done with a layer of custard or something.
Would recommend and would go again but only real bad point is you cant book

Helpful?
1 Thank scraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Taste Treats”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I had a nice tasty burger :) mmmm seconds? some nice buns to ;)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TomStatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Whats all the hoo ha about?”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I visited the Salthill branch of The Gourmet tart Company shortly before christmas just to see what all the fuss was about.I was with my daughter and we were really looking forward to it!We had to wait quite a while for service and when we eventually got our order it was wrong!My brown scone was a little on the stale side not worth waiting for!I had to remind the waitress twice to bring my daughters hot chocolate!It was not what i would call the best experience!I do however love their tarts even though they are rather expensive.I do think that this place has become the cool place to hang out but buck up on your service please!I do not understand how this place is classed as the number one in the review list!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank yogibear65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Finally dined at the restaurant for dinner!”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Okay, last time I write a review for this place, I had only had brunch and had shopped at the bakery/deli in town.

I recently won a Valentines competition on Facebook for dinner for two at the Gourmet Tart Co. in Salthill. I had only eaten brunch before there and it was really good. So this evening we pulled our fingers out and went..
We were greeted by a lovely French lady who gave us a choice of seating, it was busy enough but filled up quite quickly after we arrived. There was a really lovely atmosphere, dimmed lights, candles in little pink votives on the tables, really romantic, nice place to go on a first date too (but I'm married ;-p), fantastic menu, 4 course menu for €25!!!! Such an amazing price is hard to find for such top drawer food and the best Prosecco I have ever had!!!! In my opinion, the Gourmet Tart Company is the most unpretentious place where you get such food, COMPLETELY Underrated, its Michelin star worthy and I don't just say that for anywhere that I enjoy the food, this place really is SMASHING!!! Presentation is immaculate, attention to detail and a lot of thought and care goes into the dishes, not to mention love. The chef must have a big heart 'cause it shows in the food! From the outside, it looks nothing, looks like just a bakery, but you have to go inside, it's like a well kept secret!

First, for starters, I had shredded beef croquettes, served on a wooden board with beautiful salad on a bed of horseradish and pomegranate seeds and in a ramekin, home made pickle, GORGEOUS, really generous amounts of beef in that delicious crumb. After the table was cleared, we were presented with a palate cleanser of Blood Orange and cardamom Sorbet and then on to mains, which was a mushroom risotto with truffle. I don't like mushrooms ( I call them earthy slugs) but something made me order this and I adored it!!!! So creamy, you could taste the delicious wine through it....so yum! Ryan had the lamb burger, succulent lamb between two slices of toasted ciabatta, salad and the yummiest chunkiest chips, all built up into a little cube of crisp potato, I couldn't help but pinch one, and since all their food is cooked with rapeseed oil, it was flavoursome, tasted twice cooked (parboiled then fried), sophisticated 'burger and chips'.

Staff constantly made sure we were OK, such lovely girls, our water bottle was always full and our bread basket was never empty..

Finally, the part I was dying for, dessert, or as English people say time for 'pudding'. I am a self confessed chocoholic, so I had the Chocolate and Orange pave with hazelnut ice cream and a baked orange slice, it was like a chocolate cake that was made from chocolate truffle, dense, indulgent and certainly satisfied my need for chocolate this evening. Even the coffee was bloody perfect! Rich and smokey! There's nothing you can fault this place on!!!! Ok, there is....just the noise level, large wall space, wooden floors and high ceilings....if you want a quiet cup of coffee, too many lunching mummy's with kids,and all trying to speak over each other so you're forced to shout over the noise :( That's all, it's not like that at night, all adults in raptures over the divine food! My husband is a pain to satisfy, very rarely he is so moved by a restaurant, bad service makes him so moody and even 5 star hotels we've eaten in were 'mediocre' to him....but GTC almost brought a tear to his eye, he is in love with this place!

If they keep going the way they are...Michelin stars wont be far off..... well done guys!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah-shadylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmet Tart Company also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Gourmet Tart Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing