We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galway Vacation - Great Place to Stay”
Review of Grattan Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grattan Lodge
Ranked #56 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We visited Galway June 8th through June 11th of 2017. Pat and Connie at the Grattan Lodge could not have been more hospitable for our family. The breakfast was excellent and you must try the porridge if they have it available that day! Our niece is a college student in Galway and they invited her to breakfast as well. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and when we would come home each night they were made up perfectly. When we needed help planning the trip Pat assisted us with who to contact for excursions and transportation. On the day we were leaving, we asked if we could leave our luggage there while we did some last minute shopping and they had no issues with it. It could not have been better and we highly recommend it! We are from the United States and appreciated the excellent service. Our kids loved all the outlets in the room to plug in phones and tablets!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the biggest shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkhawk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

We are simply thrilled to bits with our stay at Grattan Lodge
Ideally located between Salt Hill and Galway and with panoramic views of the bay
A very warm welcome from Pat & Connie and they went above and beyond to make our stay just amazing
Breakfast in one word Stunning and plenty of it and set us up for the day
Rooms are all newly renovated and superbly kept
Needless to say we will be returning

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank cr0nink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights here. Wish we had chosen a different place. While they have a beautiful view of Galway Bay, the rooms are extremely small. They shower opening hardly opened enough to allow entrance to the shower. They did not provide a hair dryer. The only place on our two week stay that did not. All rooms are up one fight of stairs. They have five rooms and only four parking spaces. You can cross the street and walk on the promenade along the bay. Breakfast was good and Pat and Connie were helpful with things to do. We were able to walk town in about 20 minutes.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Grattan Lodge location is perfect, beautiful views of the bay and within walking distance to Galway. Parking is available in front. The room was clean and a nice size. The ensuite was very small. The shower had no water pressure and there was mould on the tile. Pat was a great host. His breakfast was very good and served on hot plates. The homemade bread and oatmeal were very delicious. We enjoyed our stay in Galway, but this place was not our favourite B&B during our travels of Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Pat and Conny were wonderful hosts. Very welcoming, kind and helpful. Their bed & breakfast is located just a short walk from the centre of town and right on the sea front. Great for having a cup of tea in the morning whilst taking in the view. We stayed two nights and were very happy with our choice.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
9.1 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,106 reviews
3 km away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,777 reviews
4.8 km away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,225 reviews
1.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grattan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grattan Lodge

Address: Grattan Lodge 12 Grattan Road Grattan Park, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing