We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$340
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$341
US$268
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$207
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flannery's Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$195
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$175
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$210
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$209
US$186
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maldron Hotel Galway(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
49
19
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
19
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadporridgegreat hostssalt hillfull irishgalway baygreat place to staycity centreperfect locationnext morningconniepatsalthillshowerirelandbreakfastplug
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2014

My friend and I loved it here! Salthill is such a nice area, with some shopping and restaurants nearby. The Grattan Lodge is located about a 10-15 minute walk from the city centre- I appreciated being in a quiet neighborhood and being able to walk to all the bars and other shops. Connie and Pat, the owners, are such welcoming, nice people. They knew a bunch about the area and provided maps and tips at check-in. Their breakfast is super tasty- the salmon and egg breakfast is a must try! The room was very comfortable, the beds in good condition and a pretty view of the water (at least in our room). I would recommend this place to anyone- and take a look at a lot of the paintings about the house- Connie is the artist behind most of them, and they are lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

My wife and I stayed at this B&B 6 years ago and thought we'd try it again. We were not disappointed. Friendly reception and good food.

Our room and bed were both very clean and the shower was excellent. All we need for a comfortable stay.

On our recent trip, ( last week ), we stayed with Pat & Connie for two nights. No problems whatsoever with our room and Pat's breakfasts are fantastic. Try his home made seeded bread !

We would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the Galway / Salthill area. It is a short walk to the centre of either from the door, and the views of Galway Bay are stunning.

Already planning staying there next year on our next visit to Galway.

Room Tip: If booking ahead, ask for a room at the front of the house. Therefore you will be looking across Galway Bay
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie-0650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Grattan lodge. Pat and Connie are great and very helpfull and knowledgeable of the area.Very good for either Galway city or Salthill town 10/15min walk either way. As mentioned the breakfast was faultless, keep you going all day. Rooms clean but slightly dated. shower room/toilet quite small. Must mention O'connors salthill best Guiness going.

Room Tip: Front rooms have good Galway Bay views.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dormbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

On checkin Connie and Pat appeared as if they were not expecting us even though we had booked 6 months in advance. Felt very awkward in their home We were shown a room on the second floor. The room had been advertised as an en-suite yet we were required to go to bathroom and shower located opposite the bedroom where it made for one or two awkward moments with other guests as we dashed across the hall. The bathroom can only be described as abysmal! The tiles on the floor were actually wall tiles therefore extremely slippery and some were cracked and extremely dangerous as nearly cut my foot on more than one occasion. The shower (can hardly be called a shower as normally a shower contains water) was appalling a tiny trickle of water which did not wet you at all. Ended up having a wash in the basin to freshen up. Breakfast was cooked by Pat which was nice however Connie was again making us feel extremely uncomfortable so we ate quickly so we could leave. The "Only" saving grace for this B&B was the location and the view from our room which was amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Gratttan Lodge. Connie and Pat are great hosts - they've been doing this for 16 years and it shows. They are very helpful in making recommendations regarding local things to see and do, if you request it. Pat showed us where we were on the map and gave us several routes to get to town, in case the weather was inclement (and it was later that day, so we were very thankful). The house has 5 bedrooms upstairs, yet it is so quiet we thought we were the only guests there - until we went to breakfast and saw 6 other people! Try Pat's special porridge - it is full of seeds, nuts and fruit - really tasty! :)

The Lodge is right across the street from the bay, a 10 min walk to town or 5 min walk to the Salt Hill resort area. Great pedestrian area in town full of shops and pubs. We found a mini-mart to pick up bottled water and snacks to take on the tour bus. Great live music in every pub, starts usually after 730pm. If you get tired, there are taxis waiting at Jury Inn on your way back to the lodge. There are also taxis at the other end near the square.

Special note for naturalists/photographers: As you walk from the Lodge to town, you will see many wild swans in the water just before the bridge.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MiamiSunshine512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews