We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Grattan Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grattan Lodge
Ranked #54 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best bnb we have lived in. The location is fantastic and we had a lovely room over looking the sea and the salt lake promenade . The whole family is involved in running the facility. Pat is a great chef and his breakfasts are to die for. I just fell in love with the porridge. We were allowed to use the living room in the evenings and it became so much like a home with the family joining us for evening Tete a tetes and Pat playing the banjo. We missed Connie who was out on a vacation.

Stayed: September 2014
Thank HolidayAdvisorIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2014

My friend and I loved it here! Salthill is such a nice area, with some shopping and restaurants nearby. The Grattan Lodge is located about a 10-15 minute walk from the city centre- I appreciated being in a quiet neighborhood and being able to walk to all the bars and other shops. Connie and Pat, the owners, are such welcoming, nice people. They knew a bunch about the area and provided maps and tips at check-in. Their breakfast is super tasty- the salmon and egg breakfast is a must try! The room was very comfortable, the beds in good condition and a pretty view of the water (at least in our room). I would recommend this place to anyone- and take a look at a lot of the paintings about the house- Connie is the artist behind most of them, and they are lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

My wife and I stayed at this B&B 6 years ago and thought we'd try it again. We were not disappointed. Friendly reception and good food.

Our room and bed were both very clean and the shower was excellent. All we need for a comfortable stay.

On our recent trip, ( last week ), we stayed with Pat & Connie for two nights. No problems whatsoever with our room and Pat's breakfasts are fantastic. Try his home made seeded bread !

We would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the Galway / Salthill area. It is a short walk to the centre of either from the door, and the views of Galway Bay are stunning.

Already planning staying there next year on our next visit to Galway.

Room Tip: If booking ahead, ask for a room at the front of the house. Therefore you will be looking across Gal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie-0650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Grattan lodge. Pat and Connie are great and very helpfull and knowledgeable of the area.Very good for either Galway city or Salthill town 10/15min walk either way. As mentioned the breakfast was faultless, keep you going all day. Rooms clean but slightly dated. shower room/toilet quite small. Must mention O'connors salthill best Guiness going.

Room Tip: Front rooms have good Galway Bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dormbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

On checkin Connie and Pat appeared as if they were not expecting us even though we had booked 6 months in advance. Felt very awkward in their home We were shown a room on the second floor. The room had been advertised as an en-suite yet we were required to go to bathroom and shower located opposite the bedroom where it made for one or two awkward moments with other guests as we dashed across the hall. The bathroom can only be described as abysmal! The tiles on the floor were actually wall tiles therefore extremely slippery and some were cracked and extremely dangerous as nearly cut my foot on more than one occasion. The shower (can hardly be called a shower as normally a shower contains water) was appalling a tiny trickle of water which did not wet you at all. Ended up having a wash in the basin to freshen up. Breakfast was cooked by Pat which was nice however Connie was again making us feel extremely uncomfortable so we ate quickly so we could leave. The "Only" saving grace for this B&B was the location and the view from our room which was amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
9.1 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,099 reviews
3 km away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
4.8 km away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,224 reviews
1.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grattan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grattan Lodge

Address: Grattan Lodge 12 Grattan Road Grattan Park, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing