We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$136
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flannery's Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Twelve Hotel(Barna)
US$228
US$222
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maldron Hotel Galway(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
51
19
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
19
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadporridgegreat hostssalt hillfull irishgalway baygreat place to staycity centreperfect locationconniepatsalthillshowerbreakfastplug
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Grattan lodge. Pat and Connie are great and very helpfull and knowledgeable of the area.Very good for either Galway city or Salthill town 10/15min walk either way. As mentioned the breakfast was faultless, keep you going all day. Rooms clean but slightly dated. shower room/toilet quite small. Must mention O'connors salthill best Guiness going.

Room Tip: Front rooms have good Galway Bay views.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dormbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

On checkin Connie and Pat appeared as if they were not expecting us even though we had booked 6 months in advance. Felt very awkward in their home We were shown a room on the second floor. The room had been advertised as an en-suite yet we were required to go to bathroom and shower located opposite the bedroom where it made for one or two awkward moments with other guests as we dashed across the hall. The bathroom can only be described as abysmal! The tiles on the floor were actually wall tiles therefore extremely slippery and some were cracked and extremely dangerous as nearly cut my foot on more than one occasion. The shower (can hardly be called a shower as normally a shower contains water) was appalling a tiny trickle of water which did not wet you at all. Ended up having a wash in the basin to freshen up. Breakfast was cooked by Pat which was nice however Connie was again making us feel extremely uncomfortable so we ate quickly so we could leave. The "Only" saving grace for this B&B was the location and the view from our room which was amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Gratttan Lodge. Connie and Pat are great hosts - they've been doing this for 16 years and it shows. They are very helpful in making recommendations regarding local things to see and do, if you request it. Pat showed us where we were on the map and gave us several routes to get to town, in case the weather was inclement (and it was later that day, so we were very thankful). The house has 5 bedrooms upstairs, yet it is so quiet we thought we were the only guests there - until we went to breakfast and saw 6 other people! Try Pat's special porridge - it is full of seeds, nuts and fruit - really tasty! :)

The Lodge is right across the street from the bay, a 10 min walk to town or 5 min walk to the Salt Hill resort area. Great pedestrian area in town full of shops and pubs. We found a mini-mart to pick up bottled water and snacks to take on the tour bus. Great live music in every pub, starts usually after 730pm. If you get tired, there are taxis waiting at Jury Inn on your way back to the lodge. There are also taxis at the other end near the square.

Special note for naturalists/photographers: As you walk from the Lodge to town, you will see many wild swans in the water just before the bridge.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MiamiSunshine512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a great welcome from Connie & Pat. who were most helpful in helping find a few family history locations nearby. Lovely clean room, superb breakfast with great bread; surrounded by colourful & interesting artwork. Galway was buzzing with a festival, so very lively. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We felt very welcome from the very beginning when Pat met us at the door. Everything is very clean, the location is great: five minutes to Salt Hill with its pubs and restaurants, about 10-15 minutes to the city centre, and the sea is just across the road. Our colleagues who were staying at Salthill hotel were really jealous of our breakfast, particularly of scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Pat, Connie and Michelle were very helpful and did everything to make our stay even more comfortable. I definitely think it's my best hotel/B&B experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludmila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews