We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A beatiful B&B very close to the center of Galway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Forge House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Forge House B&B
Ranked #51 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
1 review
“A beatiful B&B very close to the center of Galway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

The Forge House is a very nice B&B. I went there with my girlfriend and we got a very large and clean(!) room. The hosts are very friendly and they even made an effort to bring back much money to me which I forgot at their B&B.
The location is also very good, because you only have a 5 min walk to the center of Galway.
This B&B was indeed the best during our trip to ireland.
So if you want to have a nice time in Galway, just go to the Forge House.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DieMisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    24
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
37
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We had a very nice stay at this b&b in the centre of Galway which is the best city we visited in Ireland. Dolores is a very friendly host and we payed just 130 euro for a twin room for 2 nights with parking for our car. It's just a 5 min. walk to the city centre. The room was acceptable but we stayed at he ground floor. It's was a bit noisy and it's was quite hot in the room, we couldn't open the window far enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

Dolores is very friendly and kind. I love her. The location is very good. Near every attractions and city center. Room is clean but tiny. Breakfast is delicious. I visit the other room for 3 persons is large. I think if the price for twin beded room could have lower price ,because of the tiny space. The value will be better. Anyway, I still recommend this B&B. Especial for the location and welcome atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehome_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

The hostess was very friendly, however, we were totally put off by this place. While the rooms were supposed to be non smoking , the house itself smelled like smoke. Our room was a little odd, in that the one side had a shower stall, but the other side had a toilet. The main issue I had with this place was that there was hair all over the floor and in the shower. The towels were ripped and stained, and so were the sheets. It just didn't feel clean at all. The location was great...walking distance to city center, and there was parking in the lot behind the house. Stay elsewhere for a few euro more.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Peanut128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

Very well located, very friendly host and it does have character. However, the Forge would be much improved with a few simple changes:
replace the sagging old mattresses with firm new ones;
replace the faded, stained old towels with fresh clean ones;
replace the worn old faded sheets with crisp white linen;
bin the dusty plastic plants and the dirty rugs;
These changes would not be very expensive, and would make this B&B much more appealing and justify the euros.
General cleanliness could be better: eg need to clean the bathroom more thoroughly and lift the shower mat to clean the hairs out.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inglesa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.6 km away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.4 km away
Number 7 Cross Street
Number 7 Cross Street
#99 of 197 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 km away
No photo provided
Budget Apartments Galway
#27 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 km away
Donegan Court Aparthotel
Donegan Court Aparthotel
#31 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.2 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#8 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge House B&B

Property: The Forge House B&B
Address: The Forge 42 New Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forge House B&B is a charming period house. It is ideally situated beside famous Irish music pubs, restaurants, theatre, University College, hospital and shopping areas. It has its own private car park and there is a TV in all of the rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing