We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beatiful B&B very close to the center of Galway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Forge House B&B
Ranked #50 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2010

The Forge House is a very nice B&B. I went there with my girlfriend and we got a very large and clean(!) room. The hosts are very friendly and they even made an effort to bring back much money to me which I forgot at their B&B.
The location is also very good, because you only have a 5 min walk to the center of Galway.
This B&B was indeed the best during our trip to ireland.
So if you want to have a nice time in Galway, just go to the Forge House.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DieMisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2010

We had a very nice stay at this b&b in the centre of Galway which is the best city we visited in Ireland. Dolores is a very friendly host and we payed just 130 euro for a twin room for 2 nights with parking for our car. It's just a 5 min. walk to the city centre. The room was acceptable but we stayed at he ground floor. It's was a bit noisy and it's was quite hot in the room, we couldn't open the window far enough.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Dolores is very friendly and kind. I love her. The location is very good. Near every attractions and city center. Room is clean but tiny. Breakfast is delicious. I visit the other room for 3 persons is large. I think if the price for twin beded room could have lower price ,because of the tiny space. The value will be better. Anyway, I still recommend this B&B. Especial for the location and welcome atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovehome_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The hostess was very friendly, however, we were totally put off by this place. While the rooms were supposed to be non smoking , the house itself smelled like smoke. Our room was a little odd, in that the one side had a shower stall, but the other side had a toilet. The main issue I had with this place was that there was hair all over the floor and in the shower. The towels were ripped and stained, and so were the sheets. It just didn't feel clean at all. The location was great...walking distance to city center, and there was parking in the lot behind the house. Stay elsewhere for a few euro more.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Peanut128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Very well located, very friendly host and it does have character. However, the Forge would be much improved with a few simple changes:
replace the sagging old mattresses with firm new ones;
replace the faded, stained old towels with fresh clean ones;
replace the worn old faded sheets with crisp white linen;
bin the dusty plastic plants and the dirty rugs;
These changes would not be very expensive, and would make this B&B much more appealing and justify the euros.
General cleanliness could be better: eg need to clean the bathroom more thoroughly and lift the shower mat to clean the hairs out.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inglesa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,097 reviews
0.5 km away
Corrib House Guest Accommodation
0.5 km away
Adare Guesthouse
Adare Guesthouse
#36 of 189 in Galway
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#25 of 189 in Galway
205 reviews
0.6 km away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 189 in Galway
706 reviews
0.2 km away
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge House B&B

Address: The Forge 42 New Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: €73 - €81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forge House B&B is a charming period house. It is ideally situated beside famous Irish music pubs, restaurants, theatre, University College, hospital and shopping areas. It has its own private car park and there is a TV in all of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Forge House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing