We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch spot ”
Review of 1520

1520
Ranked #94 of 463 Restaurants in Galway
Price range: US$5 - US$36
Description: 1520 embraces all that is best about Galway, with a warm welcome to visiting guests and locals. Consistently offering an excellent experience for our customers, our guests are immersed in another world of warmth, conversation, laughter and fun. Savour home-cooked, rustic bar food, from 10.30am – 8pm , Monday to Saturday and from 12.30pm on Sunday. Sip your favourite classic cocktails with a modern twist or take in some tunes. Legendary nightly live music – from traditional music sessions, daily from 6pm to house musicians and some of Ireland’s top DJ’s playing until late every Thursday, Friday and Saturday night. The welcoming interiors include plenty of corners and well-worn upholstery with an eclectic mix of portraits, posters and paraphernalia dotted throughout.
Restaurant details
Description: 1520 embraces all that is best about Galway, with a warm welcome to visiting guests and locals. Consistently offering an excellent experience for our customers, our guests are immersed in another world of warmth, conversation, laughter and fun. Savour home-cooked, rustic bar food, from 10.30am – 8pm , Monday to Saturday and from 12.30pm on Sunday. Sip your favourite classic cocktails with a modern twist or take in some tunes. Legendary nightly live music – from traditional music sessions, daily from 6pm to house musicians and some of Ireland’s top DJ’s playing until late every Thursday, Friday and Saturday night. The welcoming interiors include plenty of corners and well-worn upholstery with an eclectic mix of portraits, posters and paraphernalia dotted throughout.
Reviewed 9 December 2020 via mobile

My partner and I had a meal and drinks here. The food was absolutely delicious but it was the kindness of the staff that really makes this place stand out. They were so friendly and helpful, they really couldn’t do enough for us. The steak was cooked to perfection. The atmosphere was also fabulous. I’ll definitely be back!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Ais2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2020 via mobile

Great cocktails, great buzz and lovely staff ! Drinks were made quickly and staff very friendly I would definitely return

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank I5845TGannam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2020

Me and my friends decided to visit 1520 for lunch and we were not disappointed. Food was delicious and even treated ourselves to cocktails as the girls were celebrating birthdays would defo recommend going in for a boozy brunch you won't be disappointed. Cocktails were very tasty Our waiter Colm was gteat, very attentive, checked in on us a few times to make sure all was well and was really pleasant and great craic made everyone feel really comfortable in these times that's a great person to have on yer team. All round great experience

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank SaraPK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2020

Really nice bar but service is terrible, we had to ask 2-3 times for every drink and food order which is really awkward in these times as you shouldn’t approach the bar, in our two hours there we received bare to minimum service. The food we did receive was really poor, really disappointing experience and would not recommend, have been to the Front Door & The Dail in previous weeks and fantastic experience in both!

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank LauraO2668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020

I frequently went here before covid and have been twice since the reopening, the first time (early July) was brilliant service and food as normal. The second time (September) was very poor food, way smaller portions and worse quality for the same price. Very hard to get a drink also. Very disappointed as I really loved this place but I had heard the rumours it had gone downhill.

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank katiekennedy1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james1520bar, General Manager at 1520, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Hi Katie,

Very sorry to hear your experience wasn't as enjoyable as your previous trip to 1520 Bar, we look forward to making it up to you next time your in.

Kind regards,
James O'Neill,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1520 also viewed

 

Been to 1520? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.