We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$143
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
US$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
No prepayment needed
Vio.com
US$117
View deal
Hotels.comUS$144
Official Hotel SiteUS$126
HurbUS$149
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
508
245
89
32
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
508
245
89
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews forster court eyre square great location foster court coach station lovely hotel shower curtain walking distance car park street noise triple room enjoyed our stay shop street breakfast was included pubs and restaurants nice room one night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2022

I would rate 2.5 if that was an option.

Bathroom:
+/-Mattress was comfortable;however, the bedding was far too heavy for weather conditions and the mattress was very warn out/sunken in where you get in and out of bed.
-Shower curtain far too long for the shower and it was filthy.
+Good shower pressure.
-Shower is made for a short person, I am not tall and I had to hunch over.
-Water in sink sprays all over you.
-Bathroom fan ran constantly, it never went off.

Breakfast:
-Waiter was rude. I waited far too long for a below average breakfast.
-Breakfast brought to table, only a few items to choose from...no fresh pastries or bread, just poor quality store bought bread that was overly toasted.
-Extremely poor quality fruit bowl.

-Unnecessary chemical scents plugged in outlets around the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2022
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roisin McGee, General Manager at HYDE Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ann C

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us in October here at the Hyde Hotel.

I am disappointed to learn of your overall experience with us here at the Hyde as this does not live up to our usual high standards. If you can kindly reach out directly to me on rmcgee@hydehotel.ie outlining a convenient time for me to contact you directly to discuss your stay in more detail.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest Regards

Roisin McGee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2022

A great location within walking distance of Eyre Square and three pretty cool pubs right across the street. Our room had a balcony and windows that opened so cool air was not a problem. It was a fun place to sip some coffee in the morning, too.
The room was well-appointed with great water pressure. We had an issue with sink drainage at check-in and the staff fixed it immediately.
As for the staff, the Hyde has a bunch of fun, personable people. The front desk staff were engaging and provided a whole list of pubs to try and things to see. The restaurant staff was welcoming and hustling all the time to get breakfast out fast.
Parking was discounted and just behind the hotel. Overall, an excellent choice for a stay in the fun town of Galway.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank grhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roisin McGee, General Manager at HYDE Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear grhokie

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us back in October.

We are delighted to learn of your overall stay and that you found the team to be fun, personable people finding the Hyde to be an excellent choice for a stay in Galway.

We look forward to having the opportunity in welcoming you back in with us should your travels take you back to Galway.

Kindest Regards
Roisin McGee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2022 via mobile

Lovely, comfortable, well-appointed hotel, great location, and very friendly staff. What more could you want??? The restaurant is very nice for breakfast. However, we were very disappointed in the bar. There are plenty of better places in Galway to enjoy a drink with much better and polite bartenders.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gail415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roisin McGee, General Manager at HYDE Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gail415

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us in October.

We are delighted to learn of your overall stay finding the hotel to be well appointed, great location and finding our team to be very friendly.

We look forward to having the opportunity in welcoming you back should your travels take you back to Galway.

Kind Regards
Roisin McGee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2022 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in September. Our room was overlooking a roof but we were not there for the view. The room was renovated and very comfortable. We haven't gone to the restaurant but grabbed breakfast from the cafe on the side (Wilde, I believe) and it was great. We got coffee and nice toasted ham and cheese croissants. Location of the hotel is extremely convenient, discounted parking is right around the corner (they validate the ticket at the front desk, so you can get the lowest price possible). Overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Milla18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roisin McGee, General Manager at HYDE Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Milla18

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your say with us back in October.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay, finding our new rooms to be comfortable, and enjoying your experience in our Wylde Cafe.

Thank you for recommending the Hyde.

We look forward forward to having the opportunity in welcoming you back in with us when your travels take you back to Galway.

Kind Regards
Roisin McGee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2022 via mobile

After arrival and check-in, our room was not what was advertised on their website or what was confirmed in our email. We called the front desk immediately and asked for this to be corrected. We had reserved a king bed but our room had a queen and a twin. The front desk said they would ring us right back. That did not happen. After waiting for 40 minutes for a return call, we called them. Their reply was two-fold. First, they said that they called twice but there was no answer. The phone did not ring, so either this was a lie, or the telephone is broken and should be repaired. Second, they said the hotel was full and they had nowhere else to put us. They said our reservation was for a double room which was true, but it specified “king bed”. Their explanation was that in Europe (vs. U.S) king beds are smaller. This is not true. The young man said that he did not have the authority to remedy the situation and that the hotel manager would be in touch in the morning. That did not happen. We were very disappointed in our room and the customer service that we experienced, we will find alternative accommodations in the future but want to be sure to warn others on TripAdvisor. This is not a 4 1/2 star quality hotel!

Room tip: This is a 2-star hotel at best. Non-existent customer service. Expect a basic hotel. Nothing better.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Prio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roisin McGee, General Manager at HYDE Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

Dear Prio123

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us here at the Hyde Hotel.

We are extremely disappointed to learn of your recent experience with us Prio123 as this certainly does not live up to our usual high standards here at the Hyde Hotel.

I have reached out to you directly following your stay and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest Regards

Roisin McGee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews