We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ann C
Cork, Ireland

Lovely relaxed stay in Salthill

Review of Sunrise Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Dec 2016
Fabulous B&B in an excellent location with great views over Galway Bay. Rooms are spotless and a.great selection for breakfast which was delicious. This was my 2nd stay at Sunrise Lodge and Peadar and Joan are a pleasure. 5 minutes walk to lovely restaurants and the fabulous promendade in Salthill. 10 minutes walk into the heart of the city centre so overall a perfect location and I would highly recommend.
Date of stay: November 2016
Room Tip: Wonderful views over Galway Bay from the front of the property but these are double rooms!
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
€234
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.0 km from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
€270
€243
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
€172
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €184
  • Agoda.com
    €153
  • Hotels.com
    €184
3.9 km from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
€280
  • Expedia.com
    €280
  • travelup.com
    €276
  • Hotels.com
    €280
1.2 km from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
€158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    €158
  • Expedia.com
    €158
  • Agoda.com
    €158
9.5 km from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
INTERIOR
Booking.com
€199
Fully refundable
  • Official Hotel Site
  • Agoda.com
    €175
  • Expedia.com
    €199
3.6 km from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    €216
  • Vio.com
1.2 km from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €287
  • Expedia.com
    €290
5.7 km from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Official Site
  • Hotels.com
    €431
  • Expedia.com
    €431
3.1 km from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €213
  • Algotels
2.0 km from Sunrise Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Galway
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
221
64
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
221
64
12
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2016

I was a solo traveler staying at Sunrise Lodge in August 2016. Peadar and Joan were welcoming and accommodating. I stayed on the top floor in an excellent room. The location is an easy walk into the main part of Galway and a pleasant stroll further into Salthill. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank davidsP2989MF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Gorgeous house with a view of Galway Bay. Our room was bright, spotless clean and very cosy. Our hosts Peadar and Joan were a pleasure to deal with and the breakfast each morning was delicious. Perfect location for a walk to Galway or Salthill and we did both. I would highly recommend the Sunrise Lodge to anyone looking for a break in Galway.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the sunrise lodge for 2 nights and we couldn't rate it highly enough. The rooms are spotless with nice linen and a good shower. Peadar the host couldn't be more accommodating and really knowledgeable about the area. Although we were simply there for a family function; this would be a great base for anyone sightseeing around the region. I also would highlight the fabulous breakfast, cooked to order and served swiftly. The homemade scones by Joan are an added extra that's a real treat. Excellent value for money.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 750niamhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We booked the Sunrise Lodge in Galway at the last minute based on a recommendation we got from fellow travelers we had met the day before. We were happy to get their last available room on the one night we would be in Galway. And now we want to pass on our five-star recommendation to other travelers. The proprietors, Peadar and Joan Cunningham made our stay all the more pleasant. With just a few hours to explore Galway, Peadar gave us an excellent map and tips on what to see and do, along with excellent suggestions on places to eat and pubs to visit. Since we love to walk, walk, walk, the location of Sunrise Lodge was perfect. Salthill area of Galway was just a 5 minute walk in one direction and historic Galway was about a 12 minute walk in the other direction. The room accommodations were very comfortable, and we enjoyed the skylight in our "attic" room. Breakfast was delightful in the cheery dining room and then we were on our way, with a fine sendoff from Peadar and Jean. Hope to see them again on our next visit to Galway and we'll try to make it a longer stay next time. Reservations can be booked either direct or thru Trip Advisor/Booking.com

Room tip: All rooms are very nice but book early to get an ocean front
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ibinhsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This is a very comfortable B & B right across from the "prom", the ocean walkway. Padraic and Joan were wonderful hosts and serve a good breakfast wth many, many options. There was parking right by the door. Our only complaint was we were carless and the walk to town on a cold, windy rainy day seemed endless.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notallplans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews