We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a Room With aView...”
Review of Haddington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haddington House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My husband, myself and our three month old baby loved our three night stay. We asked for a sea view, got it, and it so made our visit. Beautiful big sash bay windows looking out over the gorgeous bay... for the views and breakfasts alone, worth the stay. And so close to everything the town has to offer. Yes, it was a wee bit dated in decor... and I didn't enjoy it when I sneaked down the stairs late one night having got the baby to sleep to use the internet.... the cost of that and the (non) welcome by the bar staff when I asked for a drink that late (but still when they were supposed to be open to residents) was a bit off putting. But all in all.... we were made to feel welcome, breakfast was fantastic, staff were (mostly) lovely... and the views!! Yey!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Haddington House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 304 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed 2 nights in May 2011.. building and decor is dated, but sufficient for what I needed.. triple room is big enough, bathroom is ok too. Took a few minutes to find the right temperature in the shower, but got there eventually.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeMaxBleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My wife is locally born and although "exiled" in the UK for over 50 years, the call of home is so great that we return to Dun Laoghaire each year-sometimes more than once and as a consequence have experienced much of the area's accommodation-from the nearby 5 star hotel to small B&Bs and in our opinion the Kingston provides the best overall package!

The location is absolutely stunning-set just across the road from the famous West Pier-the views from the front bedrooms and public areas are without comparison! I have included a couple of photos taken from our room on our recent stay. The Kingston is an old building and does show signs of "fraying round the edges". Much of this adds, in my opinion, to the character of the place-what is less easy to accept is occassional examples of poor housekeeping-dirty bathroom tiles and grout, dusty mirrors etc. could and should be avoided! A suggestion I would make to the management (and indeed the management of small and budget hotels worldwide!) is NOT to employ young men as room cleaners as their ideas of acceptable standards of cleanliness tend to differ from the rest of us!

Breakfasts we found to be more than adequate with plenty of choice and the hot food not reheated but kept warm in heated serving vessels as is the norm with buffet style.The bar is an often lively area serving as good a pint of the "black stuff" as can be found in the area at comparable to Pub prices (though dear enough these days without doubt!!) Lunchtime and evening bar food is also freshly cooked and of a good standard.

Some changes are imminent at The Kingston and if this refubishment brings improvements to some of the areas in need of attention whist retaining the character of the place, this hotel will continue to enjoy our business in the years to come!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gokeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

On arrival we were shown to a room which reeked of cigarette smoke. We are both non-smokers and refused this room. The receptionist was quite unpleasant and insisted it was our fault as we had not specified a non-smoking room. I was rather taken aback by this attitude. The hotel in general is shabby and in some areas actually dirty. There was a ring of dirt around the walls of the bderoom and bathroom - it would appear that the rooms are cleaned in the middle only! Wil not stay here again or suggest this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

very old fashioned rooms, telephone in did not even work to be able to ring reception.

breakfast appealing, totally reheated. presentation dreadful,
i have stayed in better hostels years ago when i was in my teens'

Room Tip: do not book in to this hotel
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.2 km away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,100 reviews
2.6 km away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
364 reviews
2.7 km away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
4.8 km away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
1,629 reviews
5.3 km away
Tara Towers Hotel
Tara Towers Hotel
#118 of 150 in Dublin
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddington House

Address: 9-12 Haddington Terrace, Dun Laoghaire A96 F2R9, Ireland (Formerly The Haddington)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range: €74 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Haddington House 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront in Dun Laoghaire, Haddington House has panoramic views of Dublin Bay. Originally four Victorian townhouses the hotel began its life as Haddington House, a finishing school for girls, before being converted into a hotel in the 1950s. We are continuing to develop the hotel property but in keeping with the unique heritage of the building. Our fifty en suite bedrooms have flat screen multi-channel TV's, free WiFi, Nespresso coffee machines, digital radios, hair dryers and filtered still and sparkling water. Our newer 'Classic' and 'Deluxe' rooms also come with an in-room safe, a mini fridge stocked with fresh milk, as well as a complimentary Irish Times. Most of the rooms in these categories also have spectacular sea views. Oliveto, the award-winning restaurant with views of the sea, serves Italian-inspired fare and is extremely popular so booking is highly recommended. There's also two unique events spaces: The Library Bar and Oak Room, a lobby bar and a buzzy garden overlooking the sea complete with a Hut Bar. The location is hard to beat with Dun Laoghaire DART station just a 5-minute walk away which provides regular rail connections to Dublin's city centre. The Aviva Stadium and the RDS can be reached after a 10-minute DART rail journey. If you're staying in the area, we have partnered up with a number of local businesses so guests can enjoy discounts on activities. The beautiful village of Dalkey is a short trip down the coast and is great for an afternoon's ramble. Directly opposite us is the historic east pier which was built especially for the arrival of Queen Victoria in 1900. Around the corner is the National Maritime Museum and the James Joyce Tower made famous by Ulysses is just a 5-minute walk away. If you fancy a dip, we'll supply you with towels for a visit to the well-known swimming spot, the 40 foot (beware of the seals!) We look forward to welcoming you to Haddington House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Haddington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Hotel dún Laoghaire
Haddington House Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing