We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, friendly staff & nice ambience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oliveto

Oliveto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, friendly staff & nice ambience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

When Olivetto closed at their previous premises in Dun Laoghaire, I was very disappointed as an evening spent over a meal there was always a delightful experience.
So when I heard Olivetto had opened again recently at The Kingston Hotel in Dun Laoghaire I was really pleased but a bit apprehensive about how the experience might have changed.
I need not have worried, as soon as you walk through the door you are met by the same friendly staff who worked for Olivetto previously.
The restaurant was spacious and had a tranquil but cheerful atmosphere and the views from the windows over looking Dun Laoghaire harbour pier and the sea just fabulous.
The menu has expanded (although I do hope they re-instate the rabbit terrine) and when our food came it was excellent.
Service was good and the prices seemed very reasonable.
Olivetto is back! and I am!
The location is great.
Went in again yesterday and it's easy to see the good word has spread as the restaurant was almost full for Sunday lunch which was very enjoyable.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    116
    25
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

On a weekend in Dublin we found this gem of a restaurant at The Kingston Hotel opposite the East Pier in Dun Laoghaire. It was Saturday night so the place was buzzing and we enjoyed an aperitif at the Fireside bar, which has a fantastic view of the bay. As it was a cold evening we were deliighted to sit near the fire. We had a dinner in the main restaurant which also has great sea views and a real sense of space. The food was rustic Italian fare of a really high standard and came at a very good price. I ate the pork chop with stewed peppers and rocket and my husband had the wild boar ragout. All the food was really well executed and the service was so friendly and welcoming. We will definitely return here when we are back in Dublin and I would highly recommend this place. A great place to go after doing a seafront walk in Dun Laoghaire or Sandycove.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Londongal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Thank God they are back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We really missed Oliveto while they were blacked out.
By far the best and only Italian restaurant in south Dublin, i would go there with friends, family, clients. Deliciously light "Fritto" last night, and jumping our of water brill, perfectly cooked and dressed.
Oliveto uses the real ingredients and they do not mess with them.
team always friendly and competent. The new undertaking on the sea front is fantastic, with a beautiful sea view and in a very romantic "turn of the century" environment.
You can also book meeting rooms and there will be a cafe' lounge. Thank you guys !

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vittoriaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

The Master Chef of Pizza and Italian Food are back for our pleasure and palate.....let's go there and enjoy it :D

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NathanNever1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

I ate in Oliveto last night with some girlfriends and really enjoyed the experience. I was struck by the care they took in explaining the choices, helping with the wine list ( we got to taste a sip of wine before making our selection), I love looking at the flames of the oven too. My food was very tasty, fresh and healthy with very Italian nuances and options. The pizza smelt delish but i did not taste it. I'll be eating there again

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nollaig50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oliveto also viewed

Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 

Been to Oliveto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing