We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bento Box value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ukiyo Bar

Ukiyo Bar
Ranked #390 of 2,503 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$42
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Description: Modern Asian cuisine made with love - Private karaoke boxes to hire - Late bar and disco dancing deejays all weekend long.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bento Box value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

If you're visiting Dublin and you feel the blood sugars drop and need sustenance fast after a shopping spree on Grafton St then check Ukiyo.
They are situated on Exchequer St which is just off Grafton street in Dublin.
We go there every six weeks before our Book Club.
And everytime we go there we cannot go past the Bento Box. It is always amazing value and delicious.
The early bird Bento Box is 15 euro (from memory).
I've also been to Ukiyo for a group dinner and the service was great.
My friends continued downstairs to the Karaoke booths and it's something that I'm dying to try out again.
I would definitely recommend this for a cheap and cheerful Early bird dinner.
And I believe they have a DJ at the weekend.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank larrytheleprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    65
    23
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, average food but rude managers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

This restaurant is a poor copy of Yakamoura (200 metres away) and people go there if the opposition is fully booked. The food is average but tasty and is not too expensive. It has nowhere near the atmostphere that the superior Yakamoura has, (abeit it is much smaller and would have difficulty competing). The waiting staff are friendly and efficient but the managers are simply rude and bordering on aggressive when they want you out as they struggle with their own overbookings particularly on a Saturday evening. I am told that the Karakoke can be excellent on occasion, which is probably the only thing that it has that Yakamoura does not. Go only when you the restaurants in this busy part of town are full although most of the time it is empty.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JFMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bento box - delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2009

We tried the special "Bento Box" which was a selection of mini dishes for each person. Excellant choice, tried things I would not normally have picked off the menu. Delicious. Very busy, but good friendly service.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ssheilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuta, Owner at Ukiyo Bar, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Ukiyo Bar now offers a range of lunch and sushi bentos, all for the same great price but since our new head chef arrived we are singing about the quality from the roof tops...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food was excellent - service extremely slow. Then just pop downstairs and sing the night away!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

Food was excellent - service extremely slow. Then just pop downstairs and sing the night away!!

Helpful?
Thank MaggieMay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fish course really good...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

fish course really good...

Helpful?
1 Thank Daria P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Ukiyo Bar also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Ukiyo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing