We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent haunt”
Review of The Cookbook Cafe

The Cookbook Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cookbook Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #700 of 2,886 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Description: Fresh, vibrant cooking in a relaxed, casual environment. Lots of Cookbooks and Music books to browse through in our neighbourhood hub. Breakfast and Lunch have lots of rustic dishes, full of flavour. Evening times are a cool step up, with more serious dishes but equally flavoursome. Brunch has become a 'must-do' in Dublin with some travelling from the west of Ireland to enjoy our Vinyl brunch on Sundays. Great Take-out menu for lunch during the week. Outside Catering available and private cookery lessons. A real 'food-trap'!!!
Restaurant details
Description: Fresh, vibrant cooking in a relaxed, casual environment. Lots of Cookbooks and Music books to browse through in our neighbourhood hub. Breakfast and Lunch have lots of rustic dishes, full of flavour. Evening times are a cool step up, with more serious dishes but equally flavoursome. Brunch has become a 'must-do' in Dublin with some travelling from the west of Ireland to enjoy our Vinyl brunch on Sundays. Great Take-out menu for lunch during the week. Outside Catering available and private cookery lessons. A real 'food-trap'!!!
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

I've been here many times, and for good reason. The combination of delicious food from several schools of cuisine and friendly, expert service is hard to beat. This place has tough competition in Glasthule, but is justifiably up there with the best of it. The steak sandwich is hard to better, though on this occasion I've ordered the delicious Ottolenghi plate, which consists of the finest of middle eastern food.

Thank Rónán M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookbook cafe C, General Manager at The Cookbook Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your review about your experience at the cookbook and kind words we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

As we were walking past here, looking for somewhere to eat on a gloriously sunny afternoon, an outside table became free. As soon as we sat down a waiter came cleaned off the table, brought out fresh water, glasses and a couple of menus. The food was delicious, all fresh ingredients, obviously prepared with great care, and a very decent portion. The wine list was decent, and the wine itself was gorgeous. Prices were reasonable for what we had. Service was friendly and efficient. Will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank signpostk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookbook cafe C, General Manager at The Cookbook Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are delighted that the food and service that you received yesterday was excellent as we strive to deliver the best we can. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

This café has been a semi-regular destination for my husband and I for a late breakfast/brunch on the weekends, as the food was always nice and I do love the concept and decoration. The service had been a bit patchy in the past but has really improved over the last couple of months, so now we go there more often.

This time, it was dinner for the first time. The house was full and the atmosphere was nice. By coincidence we ordered the same meal - champagne cured salmon as a starter and brisket croquettes as a main. We both loved both meals. The bill is kind of pricey, especially the wine for 8,- a glass, but not that unusual for Sandycove. Definitely will return, also for dinner!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EvaDum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookbook cafe C, General Manager at The Cookbook Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your review on your dining experience last weekend at the Cookbook. We strive to deliver the best food and service in Dublin and appreciate your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Situated in lovely glasthule village a perfect stop after a walk by the sea, enjoy tasty combinations of healthy food, with good service. Sit by the window to watch the world go by

Thank Aine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookbook cafe C, General Manager at The Cookbook Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words about your experience at the Cookbook, we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

I had a mini portion of chicken with overdone fries at 30 Euro. Other 3 had tough beef with some boiled potatoe at 30 Euro each. Add 2 bottles of house red and you have a total bill of 160 for ridiculous portions of food. We did not have starters, deserts, coffee. No wonder the place was almost empty on A Saturday night. Michael Carroll

2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cookbook Cafe also viewed

Sandycove, County Dublin
 
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 
Monkstown, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Cookbook Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing