We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but dont go there hungry”
Review of The Port House

The Port House
Ranked #295 of 2,805 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Description: Located at 64A South William Street this beautiful and solely candle lit wine cavern has been stripped back to its original features. As a traditional Spanish tapas bar it boasts a fantastic selection of authentic tapas. The Port House wine menu is varied and full of interesting wines, ports and sherries at a very reasonable price, carefully selected from Spanish and Portuguese regions. It is the ideal place for one to relax, enjoy some tapas with a glass of wine and soak up the ambiance that makes this spot a must try.
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Food is good and the staff are very friendly, good atmosphere but when busy it can feel a little cramped, very small portions.

Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for review of our restaurant Helena. We are delighted you enjoyed dining with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017

We ate here twice during our recent trip to Dublin as the first time was GREAT!

I didn't catch the waitress' name on the first day, but she was amazing. Made you feel really comfortable, told us to chose wherever we wanted to sit, advised on what to drink as our usual wasn't available, didn't rush with the order and when the food arrived it was amazing so we decided to go again to shelter from the storm!

Whoever the waitress was on that day roughly 12:30 (16/10/17) - please have a word with her. We felt like we were in the way as we were the only ones there! We sat at the table we did first time to be told 'no, sit here' so that was a great start. I thought - are we in the same place?!

The food quality was also poor compared to the first time too and found a hair in the mushrooms. The first day would have scored a solid 5* but because of the awful experience second time round, I really can't!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fwj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Firstly we apologise for the delay in responding to this review. Secondly we also apologise for the less than standard service you received during your second visit to our restaurant. We would be honoured if you chose to dine with us again when you are in Dublin and let us remind you of just how much you enjoyed dining with us in the first instance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We had a great dinner at The Port House. A friend recommended it, and we were so glad that she did. The space is really nice, the menu has a nice selection of tapas. We loved everything that we selected. The music was really fun. I just wish I had tried one of their gin drinks!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thanks for the amazing review Gwen .... thanks to your friend for recommending us too! We can't wait to greet you again when maybe then you'll have a gin and tonic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We had a very pleasant dinner at Port House. The setting is unique -- a dark space about half a floor below street level. There is also an upstairs that was closed the night we were there. We had a series of small plates, each of which was very good. I particularly enjoyed the calamari and the paella. The wine list is modest (and they were sold out of several of the bottles on the list). I ended the meal with one of the port tastings. All in all, we had a lot of fun and the food was good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank too_few_trips_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for this descriptive and positive review of our restaurant. We apologise we were sold out of some of our wines. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

This place has THE BEST Sangria! Don't kid yourself by ordering just a glass, order an entire pitcher. You won't be sorry! It's delicious and very very effective ;) I crave it sometimes...no other Sangria compares

Thank Calinda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

This review has brought such a smile to our faces, we too are very proud of our sangria! Come along and join us again for some more of this fabulous drink! Stay for the tapas :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Port House also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Port House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing