We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of The Port House

The Port House
Ranked #263 of 2,702 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Description: Located at 64A South William Street this beautiful and solely candle lit wine cavern has been stripped back to its original features. As a traditional Spanish tapas bar it boasts a fantastic selection of authentic tapas. The Port House wine menu is varied and full of interesting wines, ports and sherries at a very reasonable price, carefully selected from Spanish and Portuguese regions. It is the ideal place for one to relax, enjoy some tapas with a glass of wine and soak up the ambiance that makes this spot a must try.
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We visited on Friday 15 Sept at about 6pm and didn't have to wait. Six of us were sat in the little cave with bench seats and a suspended table and ate by candle light. We didn't know what to pick so took the waitresses advice on food and enjoyed everything she suggested and the wine was pretty good too apparently. Would definitely recommend and visit again when we're back in Dublin.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tickerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience in our restaurant with us here on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed everything about it and can't wait to see you all on your next visit to Dublin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We went here for lunch, the food was delicious and the girl who served us was very attentive. The wine was delicious and complimented the food perfect. Great atmosphere in lovely rustic surroundings

Thank martymca33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thanks for the super 5 star rating of our restaurant. More importantly, thanks for choosing to dine with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

My boyfriend and I decided to go here for dinner following some rave reviews & were not disappointed. The food was excellent and reasonably priced.

The wait was pretty excessive 1.15 mins. They do not take bookings and it is a very popular venue so keep this in mind when going for food here, especially on a Saturday afternoon. You can wait at the bar to be seated, the gin cocktails (I had the Edinburgh) were delicious.

Aside from the wait the only other factor which let the restaurant down was that right at the end of our meal there was an issue with the plumbing which maintenance men came in to sort out. When they did, the most foul odor I have ever had the displeasure of smelling swept the restaurant. This caused all the guests in our area to get up and leave abruptly. Luckily we had finished our food & were just awaiting the bill because I would not have been able to go back and finish a meal after that!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarahlouiseruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed dining with us. We remember the plumbing issue we had, it was back in June and we recall moving all of our customers from the affected area and complimenting some bills as a gesture of goodwill. Nonetheless, we are delighted you were finished your meal and were not too affected by this problem. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

This is my favourite restaurant in Dublin and I go every chance I get! Never disappoints. Food is always delicious and atmosphere always buzzing!
Definitely recommend to everyone who enjoys great food and great wine!

Thank Lauren0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for your review Lauren, we are truly honoured. Getting such wonderful recommendations like this one is tremendous, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Went for a tapas with some friends and waited for a table. Bought and paid for a round of drinks at the bar(we were the only 4 people at the bar) from the single most uninterested bartender I have ever encountered in Dublin. Grabbed my card and never once looked up at me, her only customer.

No surprise that when they tried to charge us for the drinks again on the food bill, the bartender didn't remember me. Thankfully my online banking remembered her.

Made to feel like I was trying to con them when their bartender was clearly hopelessly inept and willfully ignorant.

Received some sort of apology and left as quickly as we could. Won't be returning.

1  Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for sharing this review of our restaurant. With regard to our staff member you are reviewing, we apologise for the confusion surrounding your drinks that you paid for already and were subsequently billed again. There was absolutely no intention of making you feel conned, this is not how we do business. Thank you, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Port House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Port House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing