We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic and moody restaurant with a good tapas and drink selection”

The Port House Pintxo
Ranked #277 of 2,804 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$59
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Description: Located in Temple Bar, Port House Pintxo offers a romantic underground vibe with booth style seating and one of Dublin's coolest outdoor terraces overlooking meeting house square so customers can also enjoy the outdoor concerts in the summer. Serving up authentic Spanish cuisine, with a variety of tapas and wines to suit all tastes.
Reviewed 11 February 2017

The restaurant is quite dark with lots of small lights and candles which gives it a nice warm feel which is quite romantic.
The menu contains a wide selection of hot and cold tapas dishes from €3 to €15. One of the advantages of tapas is you can get a mixture of dishes to suit the various tastes at the table. We picked 4 dishes between the two of us initially, when we were still a little peckish after this we ordered one more to complete the meal. We both agreed that our favourite dish was prawns with garlic and chilli.
The wine menu has a good selection of wines from Spain and Portugal only. Although they have quite a large selection of soft drinks, other than water very few were 'diet' drinks.
The place was quite busy, I'd guess that booking a table would probably be a good idea especially for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House Pintxo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Thank you for this wonderful review Glen, we are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us. We don't take reservations in our restaurant as we offer a walk in service but the wait for a table is never normally that long. We have duly noted your comments on the diet drinks section, thank you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Popped in on spec on a busy Saturday evening. Waited approx. 15 mins in the terrace until there was a table ready. Had a bowl of olives and chose wine while waiting. Service was efficient and friendly and the food and wine was delicious. The best tapas I've had in quite a while. Atmosphere was warn. Will be back soon.

Thank Dominic377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House Pintxo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Thank you for this fantastic review of our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Visited with my daughters for my 50th birthday celebrations. We started on the back terrace with some sangria while we waited for a table inside. We weren't disappointed and the food was well worth the wait. Great food, great friendly staff and Catalan Cameral! What can I say apart from if you are in Dublin you will be a fool if you don't visit!

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House Pintxo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Happy Birthday to you! We are so pleased you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us. Thank you for the fantastic recommendation, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

I don't do much on restaurants but Port House is more than an restaurant.
Every visit for me was real experience made of superb food, lovely service and indulging atmosphere. You just don't want to leave.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Plnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House Pintxo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We thrilled to receive such a wonderful compliment for our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I have been a fan of this wine and tapas bar since it opened many years ago - the atmosphere is warm and there is an excellent heated terrace for summer evenings or if you just fancy a cigarette. The tapas are varied and the wine selection is great.

I hadn't been back in some time and on a recent visit I noticed they had changed many of their tables to what looks like a set of stalls for intensive farming of animals.

Essentially many of the tables are divided by metal bars constructed at eye level which divide sets of diners from each other. The overall feeling is very claustrophobic. It seems they designed it to ensure they pack as many customers in as possible. There are other high tables and some non enclosed tables which look much better.

If they returned to their original layout I would unreservedly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortHouse2016, Customer Services at The Port House Pintxo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Thanks for sharing your review with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your food and wine but are disappointed you weren't impressed with our seating arrangements. We do hope you will dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Port House Pintxo also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Port House Pintxo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing