We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service, great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Spot

The Old Spot
Ranked #28 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Spot is a classic and timeless Gastropub owned and operated by a young and passionate team. Our aim is to provide delicious food, quality wines, select craft beers, bespoke cocktails and great service in a warm and friendly atmosphere.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

over a 3 day period of eating lunch and dinner in Dublin the old spot topped the lot, tue night and the place was packed, but instead of just say ' were booked out' we were offered a seat in the bar to have a drink until a table came available or if we wanted to eat in the bar we could, we had a drink as I like the restaurant buss,
what an excellent waiter we had, he explained how busy it was that night and they were just serving the mains to a table of 50 upstairs so our order would be a little delayed to start off, which was fine with us as we were told this, the company was good so time flies anyway, every course I had was Divine with very good presentation, well done to the old spot, ye Deserve every success.

  • Visited February 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    82
    18
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Noisy but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good range of locally source food - well cooked and very tasty with a good range of menus. Beers and wines available in what is a bit of a gastro pub. Noisy environment and not in the least intimate.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nice cosy modernized pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice pub for a drink clean, has a restaurant upstairs and also downstairs, it's a small pub and friendly

  • Visited December 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Marriage made in Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We got married at Sir Patrick Dun's hospital Registry Office on Friday. We walked over to The Old Spot for an early dinner. On arrival, we were directed upstairs to the private room which was beautifully set up. Two of the mirrors had our names and "congratulations" written on them - a lovely touch by Jane who'd had been our contact before our 'big day'
The wait staff, Ashley and a French gentleman who's name we didn't get, were amazing.
The food and wine was incredible. The pace of the service was perfect.
We are so grateful that we choose The Old Spot for our small (16 people) reception and wedding celebration - it was a marriage made in Heaven!
Continued success to all at The Old Spot and thank again Jane.

  • Visited February 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FeargalScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant pub fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2017

A great place for a light meal or for something more substantial. Good range of dishes with relaxed service in a great atmosphere. You just grow accustomed to the trains passing directly overhead!

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Spot also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Old Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing