We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Amazing value, Friendly Staff!”
Review of Steps of Rome

Steps of Rome
Ranked #740 of 2,700 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$59
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Description: Authentic Italian restaurant trading for more than 20 years. Newly relocated to Milltown, Dublin 14. Serving best pizza, superb pasta & meat dishes, great Italian wines in a cosy atmosphere!
Reviewed 6 June 2017

My colleagues and I have visited this restaurant twice (May when it first opened and gain last week) for lunch and on both occasions we have been impressed by the quality of the food, the value for money (which is rare in Dublin now!) and the attentive staff! I would recommend everything on the menu and we look forward to returning again soon!

Thank nomahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenMuresan, Owner at Steps of Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review! We look forward having you back! Grazie mille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017

Keen to try as pleasant memories of the outlet in Chatham St.
Booked a table for two, arriving a few minutes early the welcome was a little subdued.
The table was millimetres away from the one next to it. Nothing much seemed to be happening and we had to ask to have our order taken and unlike those beside us were not given the option of the 'special' and were not offered a wine list. There was a lot of shuffling of tables based on bookings and walk ins and having started being almost in the same table as our neighbours we finished having a corner of the restaurant to ourselves. Positives: the food was excellent and the only female member of staff was brilliant. Sorry no name badges and my fault for not asking. The negatives: the male staff need to understand what customer service means and the guy behind the wall polishing glasses at two miles an hour needs to come out and do some real work.
Recomnenation: book a table near the windows, go for the food , we will be back to give it another go. Well done to the girl who served us( the men need to learn how to smile)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenMuresan, Owner at Steps of Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback! Very much appreciated. Grazie and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Quite pricy as Italian goes...muscles small in size although tasty, kids meal over priced. Pasta bit on the hard side of aldente although was tasty. Kids served a Fanta from a small bottle, given just a glass and not the bottle and was flat, must have been open from a previous serving. Bread tasted as if had been sitting out on warm counter...so tasty food just pricy. Lovely ambiance though.

Thank AnnmarieBrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenMuresan, Owner at Steps of Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We're slowly working our way through the menu, and it's great. On this occasion my wife had the specials starter, a fresh crab cake on a white pizza bread served up with garlic prawns and a lovely dip. For her main she had a vongole spaghetti. My starter was a selection of cold meats with cheeses, foccacia and an even nicer dip than my wife's. All was delicious and plentiful. But THE highlight of the evening was my main -- the special on offer last night -- ravioli stuffed with cream cheese and porcini and smothered in the most delightful meaty veal sauce. We washed this down with lovely wine (the house red is perfect). After a short break we shared a tiramisu (because we were too full for two deserts) and two espressi. That would have been that until our ever-attentive host spotted that it was my wife's birthday and so rustled up some lovely homemade ice cream to see us on our way. I can only repeat what I said in my previous review: this place is a delight -- a little piece of Italy on our suburban doorstep. (Oh, and the music selection -- my one tiny grumble from our first visit -- is much improved.) This place is definitely going to be our regular!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DavidandMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenMuresan, Owner at Steps of Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you so much for your review! Grazie mille! It is always very pleasant to read a good review however it is very much appreciated the time takes for each reviewer to send us the feedback!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

New Italian in clonskeagh dundrum . Excellent food and staff . Nice selection of wine Raviolli superb

Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenMuresan, Owner at Steps of Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. Delighted to see you enjoyed your visit with us! Look forward welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steps of Rome also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Steps of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing