We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Locals and tourists in the Temple Bar area, good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
Ranked #90 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$27
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Locals and tourists in the Temple Bar area, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Very casual spot with hearty, authentic food. Waiter was very friendly. We just popped in late on a Thursday night and were seated in about 15 min. Seemed like a mix of locals and tourists.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyDCandBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,972
    1,238
    314
    99
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This was one of the best meals we had in Dublin! The atmosphere is great, very cozy, there's a fireplace in the main bar area, yet you're located right in the middle of Temple Bar. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Must go to.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Atmospheric cosy food & drink ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food (we had Irish stew, soda bread and Irish coffee ). Really friendly staff. Excellent service, would highly recommend

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Smurphy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, unexceptional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Boxty House Restaurant is situated on 20-21 Temple Bar, Dublin. It’s a very popular area of Dublin with numerous pubs and restaurants, and plenty of people most nights of the week. Customers are promised a genuine taste of modern Ireland with the warmth of a country kitchen down the west.

We visited on a Friday night after being unable to get in at the Elephant & Castle nearby. We weren't overly hungry, so opted to just have a couple of drinks and some main dishes. My girlfriend opted for a bowl of Gallagher’s Irish Stew and I went for the chicken boxty. A boxty by the way is a traditional Irish potato pancake mostly associated with the north midlands of Ireland. I also ordered a side of colcannon, a traditional Irish dish of mashed potatoes with kale and cabbage.

The sauce on the pancake was rich and thick, the chicken a little overcooked, and the colcannon was very moreish. The dish reminded me a lot of a Mexican burrito in terms of its construction and I'd like to try a chili con carni boxty some time.

The Gallaghers Irish stew was steaming hot and the soda bread was very tasty. The meat didn't seem to be of particularly high quality in either dish.

What we had was okay. I can’t get overly excited about it and given that we paid over 50 Euros for the food and a couple of pints of Heineken I wasn’t blown away by the pricing. But that’s Temple Bar for you…

  • Visited March 2017
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank couchmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family get-together”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pleasant setting, good service but food rather disappointing. Not as good as my last visit two years ago. Four of our party had the Gaelic Boxty - and all of us agreed that the Boxty didn't really add flavour to the dish.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing