We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Chameleon Restaurant
Ranked #118 of 2,822 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$46
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Description: Chameleon is an award-winning Dublin restaurant specializing in rijst-tafel or Asian tapas such as Javanese short rib, Otak Otak Crab cakes, and free-range chicken satay served with our very own peanut sauce. Established in 1994, Chameleon has become renowned for its intimate and ambient atmosphere, excellent service, and outstanding contemporary Indonesian cuisine. Chameleon restaurant has won many prestigious awards including best restaurant in Temple Bar, and John & Sally McKenna Guides "100 Best Restaurants" every year since 2013. Carol and Kevin are a husband and wife team who are inspired by travel and great tasting food. Like their namesake – the chameleon is an expert at adapting to its environment – and attribute their recent success to their continual focus on how Irish people want to dine today. Recent additions include a range of craft beers and wines as well as catering for the dietary choices of vegetarians, vegans and celiacs’ looking for gluten-free options.
Reviewed 1 August 2017

My girl is a vegan and always wanted to go to this restaurant. She said it was amazing and she loved the food. Place was really romantic and a special thanks to Carol and Jane for making it a special nite for us.

Thank antonyn278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you Antony for such a lovely review, Hopefully we will see you again, soon.

Carol :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

Located in the heart of trendy Dublin, just of the quays in Temple Bar, this place is a revelation. It offers authentic Indonesian food - served in the traditional rijsttafel way, lots of little dishes served in succession like a tapas - and I've tried three different themed menus, vegetarian, meat and fish - all brilliant. Staff are great too, and take great care to explain the menu and dishes to guests.

As a Dubliner, restaurants come and go, but this remains constantly good - and for good reason. It is always placed in the lists of 'best of' compiled by food critics.

The space is cosy and charming (like Temple Bar should be) - supposedly the upstairs dining room had a previous incarnation a yoga studio, way before pilates was trendy - and if you're eating here with a group or as part of a celebration, ask for one of the low tables if possible.

What I love most about this place is how versatile it is. I've been here on romantic dates, I've been here with fussy children, and I've been here when a young Costa Rican couple were having their wedding party on an adjacent table - regardless of the occasion, it's a great spot.

Usually when I leave, I leave satisfied, well-fed and with a couple of Shazam'ed song recommendations - snatched from their great music playlist (I really need to stop holding up my cell-phone up in the air when dining out).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we're so glad that you enjoyed your meals with us. We take great pride in what we do, the food, the service, the ambiance, right down to the choice of music!
You clearly get what we are about.

Warmest regards,
Carol & Kevin :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

The see food tasting menu (40 euros) had no flavor at all and the wine is served not in its original bottle but still you pay 25-30 euros for it. The food was bad I'm sorry, maybe bought frozen and heated up?

4  Thank Sigridur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for visiting our lovely restaurant, it's a shame the food wasn't to your liking.
We take pride in the quality of the ingredients we use, nothing frozen, always fresh and made from scratch.
We have several wines available by bottle as well as by cask. The wines by cask offer better wines at a better price to our customers. They are also kinder to the environment as the do not use glass and are fully recyclable.
Many thanks again for your visit.
Carol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

My favourite restaurant in Dublin. A feast of different dishes. There was six of us and everyone had a different favourite. Lovely decor, atmosphere and staff. Strongly recommend. The set menu choices are great. Very reasonably priced for what you get. I will be back.

1  Thank marybrohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hi Mary, we are honoured to be your favourite restaurant in Dublin!

Thank you so much,

Carol & Kevin :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

It's the only place like it in Dublin. The food is so flavoursome that your palate thinks it has died and gone to foodie heaven. There's no such thing as food envy as you can share all the plates with your friends. Nice n cosy for a date too with fairy lights, candles,cushions and delicious wine. Friendly staff. Right in the heart of temple bar. I've just been two weeks in a row and planning to go back again very soon!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Triona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hi Triona,

Thanks so much for your glowing review, you clearly get what we're about. We are indeed, unique!
We look forward to seeing you again, soon.

Carol & Kevin :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chameleon Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chameleon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing