We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rafiné... still so “British/Irish””
Review of Roly's Bistro

Roly's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Roly's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #236 of 2,931 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$48
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Roly's Bistro opened in Dublin in November 1992 and quickly became one of the city's busiest and best loved restaurants. Its reasonably-priced menu and wine list together with a casual, light-hearted atmosphere made it an instant hit with everybody from romantic couples to families, from business executives to local and visiting celebrities. Today, a team of 27 chefs serve freshly-cooked food to over three thousand people a week without compromising on quality and standards. Fresh heated bread is baked daily in the bakery.
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

I knew the take away (which I loved(, i discovered the “upstairs restaurant “ on a special private occasion: and I was stunned. The entrée : duck liver and chicken terrine was a real treat, followed by an Irish lamb and vegs pie above my expectation, served with a trilogy of vegetables. Last was the cheesecake, well served, but not the best I had. Good selection of wine. Being French: we were offered bread to start, but no butter, and our bread plate vanished just as the entree arrived. Pitty.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank GuillesseTripAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 2,471 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

I have been visiting Roly’s three or four times a year for over 20yrs now. Food is still very good... Had an 8oz Fillet with béarnaise .. Frozen bought in Chips !!!!!! Come on lads... “Home Cut” ... Front of House Management not a patch on days gone by... A restaurant like Roly’s needs a Manager/Managers with a bit of pep in there step .. Nobody form management check our table... Waited 25min for Wine and water order to arrive. You put a extra charge on your Bills for service (Service Charge!!!) I like to leave a Tip for good service... Would not leave a Tip for last nights service. Good Food.... Poor management.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank S183EBgaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

There is nothing like a trip to Roly's. hsve been loads of times a it ever fails to deliver top class nosh with top class service

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Voyager242732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Thank you Khan, Selene and the rest of the staff for making mum's birthday so special. The "chicken" jokes were particularly funny !! The food was superb as always. The personalised birthday dessert was a great treat . The best compliment to the chef was that all our guests ate everything on their plate. It is now a well-established family tradition that we go to Roly's for each birthday. The reason for this, besides the food, is that Khan and his team go out of their way to make the occasion most enjoyable.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

This afternoon we had a wonderful lunch in Roly's. It was a Sunday family dinner to celebrate a birthday and Khan and his team did a terrific job of taking care of us. All the staff were very friendly, the food was fantastic (had chicken for main which was excellent) and Khan in particular made a big effort to make sure we had everything we needed and were having a good time. Looking forward to the next time!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Voyage14161829233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roly's Bistro also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Roly's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing