We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre Rugby Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roly's Bistro

Roly's Bistro
Ranked #83 of 2,527 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Roly's Bistro opened in Dublin in November 1992 and quickly became one of the city's busiest and best loved restaurants. Its reasonably-priced menu and wine list together with a casual, light-hearted atmosphere made it an instant hit with everybody from romantic couples to families, from business executives to local and visiting celebrities. Today, a team of 27 chefs serve freshly-cooked food to over three thousand people a week without compromising on quality and standards. Fresh heated bread is baked daily in the bakery.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pre Rugby Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's now part of our bi-annual pilgrimage to the great Irish cathedral that is the Aviva stadium for our bi-annual beating! The food is outstanding especially the Kerry lamb pie and the mashed carrot. Liam is as always a great man to have serve you with a smile and good humour. Shame about the rugby!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank tomamoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,138
    567
    197
    81
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food in a relaxed yet professional atmosphere ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ate there with some friends after the Ireland v England rugby game. As expected busy but friendly atmosphere. Food was good, especially fish courses. Extensive wine list as well.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely local food and helpful, attentive staff- they were incredibly busy as it was a match day at the Aviva, so the attentiveness was much appreciated.
Our only issue was that they didn't remind us the table was booked after us, and we're very keen to rush us out. This is totally fair, I think the way they did it could have been improved as there were a couple of other tables nearby and we were finishing our coffee.
Otherwise a lovely experience with beautiful food. Worth a trip

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Anneke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not romantic but what an atmosphere. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's close to The Ballsbridge Hotel so an ideal place for dinner. The atmosphere is loud and lively. The staff are friendly and attentive. The food was lovely, we went for Breast of chicken and monkfish both delicious with new potatoes and vegetables. The service was a little slow but it's such a good place it didn't matter. This is the place.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Johncobham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terracina, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“GOOD RESTAURANT, NICE ATMOSPHERE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I was there with another ten colleagues, service has been efficient and fast, my starter based on scallops very good as well as the main course (meat). The cheese cake was nothing special. In the area is one of the best

  • Visited March 2017
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GIPSY762014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roly's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Roly's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing