We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD RESTAURANT, NICE ATMOSPHERE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roly's Bistro

Roly's Bistro
Ranked #83 of 2,527 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Roly's Bistro opened in Dublin in November 1992 and quickly became one of the city's busiest and best loved restaurants. Its reasonably-priced menu and wine list together with a casual, light-hearted atmosphere made it an instant hit with everybody from romantic couples to families, from business executives to local and visiting celebrities. Today, a team of 27 chefs serve freshly-cooked food to over three thousand people a week without compromising on quality and standards. Fresh heated bread is baked daily in the bakery.
Terracina, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“GOOD RESTAURANT, NICE ATMOSPHERE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I was there with another ten colleagues, service has been efficient and fast, my starter based on scallops very good as well as the main course (meat). The cheese cake was nothing special. In the area is one of the best

  • Visited March 2017
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GIPSY762014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,138
    567
    197
    81
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been to Roly's a good few times for lunch and for dinner. The food is always outstanding, so fresh and beautifully presented. I love the crab and avocado bruschetta, definitely one of my favourites. Their steaks are perfectly cooked and there is an excellent selection of desserts too.

The atmosphere is lovely - it's quite a large restaurant so even when it's really busy you never feel like you're sitting on top of another table.

The staff are lovely and always so helpful. Would recommend this place for anyone from couples to family and friends, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roseeb487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Truelly excellent meal and superb staff. Every member of staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant. This restaurant never fails to please.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dorothy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Disappointing birthday dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've just returned from a birthday dinner for my mum. 7 of us visited the restaurant to spoil her but unfortunately we've been left sorely disappointed.
The service was very poor, took forever to get anything. My dad had the dover sole and ordered a side of fries, he nearly had his fish finished before his side arrived, after we'd asked mike times.
One waiter in particular was downright rude, grabbing dessert menus from our hands when we asked to see the set menu choices (to compare).
Food was generally good but service seriously let this famous establishment down.
We will not return.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A taste of Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful atmospheric venue with varied menu cooked superbly.
Staff friendly and relaxed making the experience delightful.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jeffwallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roly's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Roly's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing