We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roly's Bistro

Roly's Bistro
Ranked #83 of 2,527 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Roly's Bistro opened in Dublin in November 1992 and quickly became one of the city's busiest and best loved restaurants. Its reasonably-priced menu and wine list together with a casual, light-hearted atmosphere made it an instant hit with everybody from romantic couples to families, from business executives to local and visiting celebrities. Today, a team of 27 chefs serve freshly-cooked food to over three thousand people a week without compromising on quality and standards. Fresh heated bread is baked daily in the bakery.
malibu
Level Contributor
191 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pitched up for lunch with my wife and her sister. Seated upstairs at a lovely table on a very busy Friday. Three course lunch for 28 euros. Lots of choice and large quantities. I had the Dover sole ( for which there was a modest surcharge) and it was exquisite. My companions had pork and pot pie and pronounced both to be excellent. Deserts were outrageously good. Service was professional and friendly. We walked away shaking our heads at the value for money we had received. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank malibuirishmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,138
    567
    197
    81
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Good Food, Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very enjoyable food , in great surroundings , with a fantastic service. Roly's never fails to delight and would recommend to all and sundry!

  • Visited March 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank X4291CUmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Just an example of how excellence CAN actually be achieved consistently”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been going to Rolys for its 25 year existence. In that time I can't remember one bad meal. I know this may sound strange but such is the consistency and wonderfulness of this restaurant. I have also recommended it to so many people - knowing that my recommendation was 'safe' and the people would absolutely enjoy the best, in its category, restaurant in Dublin/Ireland. There are so many good dishes that I don't want to recommend just one, so I will have to pass responsibility to you to see for yourselves.
So thank you to everybody at Rolys

  • Visited February 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Confirmation ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The whole meal, atmosphere, service and location was perfect.
The restaurant went up and beyond with personalised menus for all the children making their confirmation and personalised deserts !!
Brilliant overall, would recommend to anyone !

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank cmacc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant. Good food with gluten free options ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went there for a meal with a large number Split over 2 tables in our own section. Food was very good. Quite a bit of choice and with some gluten free options. There weren't listed but staff were happy to advise which dishes were suitable on request. Even though there were 17 of us in our party and the restaurant was fairly busy service was still very good.
Nice atmosphere

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Lowri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roly's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Roly's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing