We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small in size ,big on flavour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beanhive

Beanhive
Ranked #2 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$11
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Scotland
Level Contributor
334 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Small in size ,big on flavour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend told me about this cafe she discovered on a previous visit to Dublin and advised me to check it out -"it's currently the No 1 cafe in Dublin ",she said ....and I can see why .
It's really small -6 tables inside at the most ! and some on the pavement outside if the weather allows . Brilliant coffees and great range of teas as well and lots of freshly made meals for lunchtime or a snack . Very friendly and efficient service and the place was mobbed on the day I visited . Will definitely be back .

  • Visited March 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank visit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanhive, Owner at Beanhive, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Visit09

Thank you very much for your lovely review!

We're delighted to hear that you found your way to us by word of mouth :)

Looking forward to welcoming you in again for some more coffee and teas!

Kind regards,

Beanhive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    54
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid Irish Breakfast, Tiny Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you aren't careful you'll walk right past this place - and inside, it's pretty small. Just four or so tables, sometimes (if it's nice, and it rains a lot in Dublin) there are some extra 2-person tables outside.

That being said, it's a cozy little place with really good food. The full 9-item Irish breakfast is a lot of food (I would recommend going for the 6-item myself, unless you're extremely hungry). The coffee is solid as well - my mocha had a custom design on it, which was a lovely touch.

This is not a large family restaurant, but great for individuals or couples looking for a nice hot breakfast. Get there when they open and you won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank axelutezero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanhive, Owner at Beanhive, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Axelutezero,

Thank you so much for your lovely review!

We are in quite a tight space but we do like to think that what we lack in size we more than make up for in flavour!

Looking forward to future visits!

Kind regards,

Beanhive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food, timing issues ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food lived up to the other reviews on here when we visited for breakfast - the porridge was amazing and the cooked breakfast also good. Appreciate it's a tiny place (we were lucky enough to get a table with no wait) but the timings on our food weren't great - I'm not talking about a couple of minutes' difference, I'd basically finished my food before my companion's arrived at the table which spoilt it a bit. Otherwise great though, and the coffee and coffee art were a highlight :)

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank cm509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanhive, Owner at Beanhive, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi cm509,

Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback!

We are very sorry to hear about the issues with timing - occasionally when it gets busy things get a little hectic!

We do hope you'll come back again and give us another chance!

Kind regards,

Beanhive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Small hidden gem!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this place after seeing it's reviews and it lived up to expectations and more. Lovely food + coffee and the service was nothing short of top class. Could be mistaken for thinking you were in a busy city centre. Great place to start your day and will definitely be back when I'm in Dublin again!!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanhive, Owner at Beanhive, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi David R,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!

We are glad that we have met up to your expectations!

We look forward to having you back on your next visit!

Kind regards,

Beanhive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, great food, very nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the nicest cafes I've ever been to. Food was excellent; you must try one of their sandwiches. The piece de resistance was their mango chai latte: creamy and flavorful. Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanhive, Owner at Beanhive, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Veronica C,

Thank you very much for your glowing review!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your mango chai!

Do come back and have another soon!

Kind regards,

Beanhive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beanhive also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Beanhive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing