We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and tidy”
Review of Amberley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amberley House
Ranked #38 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Lovely old guesthouse in a great location. Not far from O'Connell Street and the Liffey but on a quieter street so there's not much noise from outside (my window was at the back of the building too). The bus from the airport drops you right out the front!
My room wasn't ready when I arrived but there's a bathroom and luggage storage to freshen up. The receptionist was very helpful (and available 24/7).
Room was a decent size, well furnished and a comfortable bed. I was on the top floor (there's no lift) but one of the employees kindly took my bags up for me. The bathroom was modern and clean although the shower is very tiny (I'm 6ft but thin). If you're on the larger side you might not even get in the door!
All round was a pleasant stay and for the price range I would expect nothing more or less - would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RustyAstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

I could not get a hot or even warm shower; further, the staff knows about the problem, which is due to old pipes, or so they said, and they continue to book people. Bad business practices! They said to run the hot water for 5 minutes and I tried for 10 a couple times that night and in the morning. I had traveled all day and was supposed to get on a plane for 12 hours the next day -- I really needed to clean up. Very unhappy about this. Otherwise the place was clean and centrally located so if you don't care about a warm shower, you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Avoid unless you don't care about a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peregrinator2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Last month my boyfriend and I took my parents to stay with his parents for the first time and to make the trip a little more special we decided to stay in Dublin for a few days on the way to their home.
We had booked in elsewhere (not sure on Trip Advisor's policy on mentioning other accommodation in a review so won't name names but I've written a lengthy and descriptive review of the revolting place that we were supposed to be staying in).
Essentially we arrived at the accommodation that we had booked and it was just horrendous, we could not stay there. So this meant at 1pm my boyfriend and I were literally running around Dublin and knocking on the door of every guest house that we could find trying to find somewhere for us and my parents to stay.
And we stumbled across Amberley House and it was just heavenly. The staff were wonderful and so professional and friendly and it was so clean and modern and lovely.
I must have been so annoying because I was waiting in their reception for the current guests to check out so that we could go and have a look at the apartment before confirming that we actually wanted it. I was highly surprised that they let us do this but they did, like I said they could not have been any more accommodating.
We were completely honest with them about the debacle we were having and they could have really taken advantage of that and pretty much charged us anything because we didn't really have much of a choice of where to stay but they did not and they still went above and beyond for us.
The apartment was lovely and had balconies and the facilities were brilliant, honestly could not have asked for a better place to stay. It was reasonably priced as well.
I'm very very grateful that they managed to fit us in at such short notice.
Thank you very much!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank lottie1232016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Good 2 night stay here - really pleasant staff- arrived early from airport and were allowed check in 2 hrs early at no extra cost (rm 22) slight problem with toilet in room- which the hotel tried to fix - when they couldn't completely sort it- they paid for complementary taxi to airport- so well done for that - would return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank timmas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maja M, Manager at Amberley House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Timmas2,
Thank you very much for your nice review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay regardless the issue in the room that we weren't able to solve during your stay. Thank you for your understanding and patience.
It will be nice to welcome you again.
Kind Regards,
Maja Morawiec
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed in an apartment, which had a double bedroom and a sofa bed. Slept 4 comfortably as we didn't spend much time in the apartment. Found the location good, staff at the first house were really nice and allowed us to keep our luggage there before and after check in/our. The shower was a bit tempermental with the heat controls and getting it going but was okay once we got the hang of it.
It's a no frills apartment which does what you would expect for am affordable price.
Thanks amberley

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank sleepyheadExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maja M, Manager at Amberley House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Deasr SleepyheadExeter,
I am glad you have enjoyed our stay at Amberley Apartments. I am sorry if you haven't been shown how to use the electrical shower- which yes can be bit challenging if you haven't use this kind before.
I am happy the staff was nice.
Thank you for all your kind words.

Kind Regards,
Maja Morawiec
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Parkway Guesthouse
#15 of 150 in Dublin
343 reviews
Kildare Street Hotel
#55 of 150 in Dublin
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#22 of 150 in Dublin
676 reviews
Trinity Lodge
#30 of 150 in Dublin
577 reviews
Waterloo Lodge
#24 of 150 in Dublin
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberley House

Address: 34 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: €54 - €316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amberley House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amberley House B&B is located on Lower Gardiner St Dublin 1, only 2 min walk to O Connell Street, the centre of Dublin. The main bus and rail terminals are also only 5 min walk away. We offer en suite bedrooms, double, triple and quad beds. Each room is equipped with TV, tea/coffee, telephone and ironing facilities. 24 hour reception available with our friendly staff willing to assist you with any queries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amberley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberley House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing