We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at this Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Ranked #106 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“First time at this Travelodge”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We had one night in the Ballymun Travelodge, fantastic rooms all as new really was a surprise.
Great staff everything you could want in a hotel, yes as some of the reviews said Ballymun is not a great area but we find having stayed at other hotels in the area no worse than any large city. We will look forward to another stay there.

Room Tip: Take bus 4 or 13 from O Connell Street get off at Ballymun Shopping Centre hotel on your right
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonaldJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Manager1, Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Ronald James,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our hotel.

We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our rooms and our team. I will pass on your comments to my fellow team members.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Laura and The Travelodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    312
    209
    117
    109
See reviews for
184
336
100
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Conveniently situated right by the bus stops to/from city centre where you can use (at least) two buses (numbers 4 & 13). Get a Rambler bus ticket from airport and it covers airport buses and all city buses too.

Clean, secure and quiet hotel location with friendly helpful staff.

All usual travelodge facilities (tea/cofee etc)

I got it for 19 euros - fantastic bargain

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Manager1, Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Jrapeter,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our hotel. We greatly vlue our guests feedback and I will pass on your nice comments to our team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future and hope you manage to avail of more of our 'bargains' throughout the year!

Kind regards,

Laura and The Travelodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Hotel is relatively new so clean!! (i can see a downward trend as the years pass though) The beds are small but the rooms are big. the bathrooms are clean. There is decent free carparking in a secure basement. Its a 5min drive from the airport, or a 30min bus trip into the city centre. Its not a hotel for tourists - more transit or visiting the area.

i paid 39eur for the room. you just cant beat that.

restaurant was nice...the staff were local and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Manager1, Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Marcus 2000,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, we greatly value our guests feedback.

I'm pleased to see you find our team friendly and the rooms spacious.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Laura and The Travelodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watergrasshill, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

A 2 night stay for an event. With most hotels of similar standard €100 a night in the centre, I chose this hotel for price, so the €1.80 each way on the bus,which pass the hotel every 10 minutes, was worth it to save on the hotel bill.
The hotel is very comfortable and modern, even though the surrounding areas may not look like that too. For the sake of a 30 minute bus journey, I had an extra €140 to spend on what I wanted to do, rather than line the pocket of an international hotel chain. In fact, the rooms are of a better standard than many Travelodges I have stayed in. There is also an underground secure car park for those who need it.
If budget is your concern, this hotel is an excellent option, however, you are far away from the city centre action. For people arriving late, there is an excellent Chinese take away near by, and a bar in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Manager1, Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Edward C,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our hotel.

We greatly value our guests feedback. You're absolutely right - it is a handy location for travelling in and out of the city by bus etc and we're glad you were able to save your money by staying with us to spend on other things (",)

We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Laura and The Travelodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Got the room for 32 euro (24 pound) online. Was a big room, unexpected from a usual travelodge room. Nice and quiet sleep!
Would help if on the website they gave the area instead of 'Airport North' & 'Airport south' as this caused confusion and ourselves 20 euro more than it should of!

Room Tip: Make sure you specify which travelodge you want to go to with the taxi driver!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Manager1, Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Rob S,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our hotel. We greatly value our guests feedback.

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay however I fully take on board your comments about highlighting the location of our hotel a little better as to not cause confusion with our sister Hotel, Dublin North Travelodge. I will try to solve this ASAP on our website.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards,

Laura and The Travelodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel

Property: Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Address: Apartment 62 The Plaza Shangan Road | Ballymun, Dublin 9, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun is ideally located 4 km from Dublin Airport and 5km from Dublin City and offers spacious modern rooms at budget prices. The hotel operates a shuttle bus service to/from the airport every 20 minutes for €3.00 Per passenger. The service runs from 05am-9am and 5pm -9pm. Stay in Dublin for less this year, for business, catching a flight from Dublin Airport or visiting Dublin City for shopping and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun Hotel Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing