We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay..Excellent staff..Excellent breakfast..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We've just returned from a 2 night stay in the Donnybrook B&B in Dublin. It was amazing from the moment we arrived with it's picturesque tree lined street to the welcoming view from the outside.
Stepping inside we were so warmly welcomed by the owner Terry. He instantly gave his knowledge of the area and showed us on a map where to go and how to get places.
That map was a godsend :)
Our room was perfect with an en-suite shower room. Great small touches of lovely biscuits and a truly comfortable bed.
The breakfast was gorgeous and plentiful. Fresh orange juice was delicious.
Selection was great too.
The 2 ladies who work there are always checking all is well and keep an immaculate B&B, always dusting, ironing, wiping down etc.
Terry is a top fella, nothing too much trouble.
I would definitely stay again when we go back to Dublin.
Walk to the end of the road and turn left to the bus stop into the centre, costing 2 euros 55 each. Have the right change as they do not give change or allow the use of notes.
We walked into the centre on our first day as it was sunny which took us about 30 mins and is a simple walk straight to the corner of St Stephen's Green.

Simply a fantastic place to stay and base for a Dublin stay

Thanks for a memorable stay :) Craig & Sarah

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shawysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Hi Craig and Sarah,

Thank you for such a wonderful review on Donnybrook Hall. It is a great pleasure for us to know that we could help make your trip to Ireland so memorable. We love nothing more than the knowledge that our guests have walked out the door 100% satisfied with every aspect of their stay. You are truly welcome back to stay with us anytime and would love to meet with you again in the future.

Warm wishes

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 114 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2015

We loved this place. It is a very clean and tastefully decorated establishment. We were greeted by Sol, a lovely lady who gave us a map and the details for the buses into Dublin. Nothing was too much trouble. The same could be said about Terry, the owner, and the other lady who I think is his wife.The choices available for breakfast were great and the food was lovely. As we had to leave early the next morning they prepared us some baps with sausage, bacon and egg to eat on the journey. Brilliant !

Thank DRWolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2015

Hi DRWolv,

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip advisor. It was no trouble at all for us to help you out and help make your stay with us memorable and enjoyable. We are delighted you appreciated our hospitality but it was a pleasure. We hope to meet with you again in the future so be sure to look us up and Terry will look after you.

Warm wishes and wishing you the best xmas this year from all of us at Donnybrook Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here,on our little adventure to Ireland,to find Europe's first Geocache.
This was our first visit to the country and it was fabulous.
We arrived to a friendly greeting,then showed to our room,for the night.
The room was a good size and spotless.
The beds comfy and the shower etc. worked very well.
Breakfast was amazing,with so much choice.
Nothing was too much trouble.
If we ever stay again in Dublin,we won't be staying any where else.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Johnboy-A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Hi Johnboy,

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. I am so glad you enjoyed your nights stay with us and hope your adventure truly was short and sweet. Offering 100% satisfactory customer service is of the utmost importance to us and genuinely nothing is too much trouble where are guests are concerned. We do hope to meet with you again in the future.

Warm wishes

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Donnybrook Hall is comfortable, clean, and has probably the biggest breakfast choice I have ever come across! Terry and the staff are really friendly and couldn't be nicer.
Couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronanmaccon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Hi Ronan,

Thanks for taking the time to review Donnybrook Hall. It means alot to us to know that you enjoyed your stay here and especially that you would recommend us to all our fellow Trip advisor users.

Best wishes

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We stayed here overnight before catching the ferry back to the UK. Our room was clean and comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was very good. It may be a bit far out from the city centre for some people but that didn't matter for us and I believe that there is a bus stop nearby. I would recommend the Italian restaurant round the corner, Forno, for an evening meal.

Room Tip: We had room 1 - by the front door. We were a bit worried that it might be noisy but didn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BAC123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Hi BAC123_12,

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. A good nights sleep makes for a good day ahead especially with a long boat journey ahead so we are delighted that you slept well here. Donnybrook is a very tranquil, peaceful part of Dublin with access by bus to the city centre in 5 minutes. For guests looking for the hussle bussle during the day and to unwind and relax at night it is definately the place to stay. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again and maybe sample more of Dublin should you return.

Warm wishes

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.5 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,646 reviews
7.3 km away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 150 in Dublin
336 reviews
1.5 km away
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
1.4 km away
Aaron Court
Aaron Court
#3 of 150 in Dublin
253 reviews
5.4 km away
Egans House
Egans House
#27 of 150 in Dublin
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnybrook Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnybrook Hall Hotel

Address: 6 Belmont Avenue | Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: €87 - €185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnybrook Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Embassy Belt of Dublin 4, our Bed & Breakfast is centrally located to University College Dublin, the RDS Showgrounds, Lansdowne Road Rugby and Dublin City Centre. Donnybrook Hall is a family owned and run Bed and Breakfast. We offer clean, quiet and comfortable accommodation in the central Dublin neighbourhood of Donnybrook. Nine of our bedrooms feature ensuite bathrooms, wood floors and restful furnishings.Three of our bedrooms open onto a lovely garden. A comfortable sitting room is available to all our guests. Donnybrook Hall in Dublin has 10 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Donnybrook Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing