We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel right in the heart of Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingfisher Townhouse
Ranked #73 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hotel right in the heart of Dublin”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Cant go wrong with the location of this hotel.
Located on Parnell Street just of the main shopping / tourist street, O'Connell St.
Walking distance of Croke Park and many other attractions in Dublin. Including O2 (45 mins).
Stayed here twice now and not been disappointed.
Rooms are clean and are a nice size.
Breakfast served in the cafe next door. Spoilt for choice to what to have for breakfast. They also do main meals and snack and is open till late.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel, street facing can get noisy with traffic / late night drinkers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    138
    52
    15
    4
See reviews for
72
181
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Nice, clean room, very helpful staff, privet car park if booked in advance. Will be going back. Only disappointment was the food in the restaurant next door...read some good reviews so went for dinner and it was rather a big disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia_cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Our first night in Dublin was spent at the Kingfisher. The location and price were very appealing, as was the Kingfisher restaurant.

We arrived early in the morning on a Saturday and inquired about parking, and the front desk recommended a nearby parking garage, connected to Arnott's department store, as their lot was full. First tip: if you have a car, book parking ahead of time. Either the price was miscommunicated or we misunderstood, because this parking arrangement cost us ~60-70 euros when we left the next day. We had to delay our departure from Dublin because the garage opened late on Sundays. Whatever you do, don't park at this garage!

There was a phone # to call to have someone get your car however the person at the front desk had no phone that we could use so we had to use a pay phone across the street. Not overly helpful, although they did help us out with an electric adapter. We stayed in 10 different inns in Ireland and this one had the least family-run feel, even though it advertises itself as family owned and operated.

The room itself was basic and met our needs. The windows opened up onto the street and considering we were in a city it wasn't too loud at night.

The location is superb, right by the Temple Bar district and O'Connell Street.

We had both dinner and breakfast (included) at the Kingfisher restaurant. The fish and chips were very good and breakfast was decent.

All in all, our experience wasn't the best mainly due to the parking fiasco and mediocre service; however if you plan ahead for parking this can be a simple, cost effective place to lay your head.

Room Tip: Book parking in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at one of the 3 Kingfisher-owned apartments, which was on Parnell at the Kings Court complex (across the street and down a block from the Kingfisher Townhouse). The beds were lumpy but OK, the rooms were clean, the bathroom recently updated, the kitchen reasonably stocked with plates and silverware, but the building itself was dingy and smelled heavily of old food and cigarettes. The apartment furniture was also a bit ragged: the living room had one of the rattiest old sofas that I've seen in recent years, the arm chair had a variety of mystery stains and the coffee table wobbled precariously. The hot water tank was sufficient for a couple, but not for a family of 4. Though Parnell is not the most charming of streets, Henry is literally just around the corner and Temple bar is an easy walk across the river, so the location is pretty prime.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanitdelfoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed here 3 nights on vacation to Dublin. We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel is very easy to find and only a 3 minutes walk from the "Airlink" bus stop (from the Airport).

The staff was welcoming, friendly, helpful, and provided 24-hour service. There is no elevator & we stayed on the 3rd floor, but the porter helped us and we packed pretty light. The room was very nicely decorated and cleaned everyday. The shower in particular was exceptional. The beds, however, were too hard for me and I had a hard time falling asleep.

The location is convenient to all the sights of Dublin (10 minute walk across the river), but a disadvantage of staying so close to downtown is the noise - we decided to close the windows and tolerate the heat instead of stay awake listening to road/city noise.

One thing I really liked was that the hotel is connected to a restaurant so you actually get a voucher for a "free breakfast" at the restaurant next door, which is cool. You can order whatever you want off the menu from a waitress and it's free! Really delicious irish breakfast.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Hotel St. George
#83 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
North City Centre
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Townhouse

Property: Kingfisher Townhouse
Address: 166 Parnell Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#45 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingfisher is a family run business for over 38 years. The Kingfisher is located in the heart of Dublin, ideal when visiting Dublin . Our recently refurbished boutique rooms make it the perfect base for exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Kingfisher Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing