We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic walk through history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1916 Rebellion Walking Tour

1916 Rebellion Walking Tour
Ranked #11 of 220 Tours in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dublin's original 1916 Tour founded in 1996 and guided by author Lorcan Collins and other experts in Irish revolutionary history. We run daily tours from the International Bar on Wicklow Street.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic walk through history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016

Lorcan was our tour guide and you would be hard pressed to find a more knowledgeable and passionate guide through the complex history that is Ireland. He was very engaging with everyone in our group and encouraged questions throughout the tour. Was a highlight of my stay in Dublin.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
3 Thank roycowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    48
    11
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Must do" event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Lorcan was our guide - he is a walking encyclopedia of Irish history and culture! I could take this tour 10 times and learn something new each time. We particularly loved his interactions with Dubliners passing by the tour who stopped to chat during his talk and offered additional tidbits of information. The tour starts at a pub, where Lorcan sets the context and atmosphere for the walk. He is very personal and loves answering questions.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Txpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect tour for high schools”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

We had a very enthusiastic guide called Rory that took us through history of Dublin and a bit of Ireland in only 2 hours. Even though the weather was cold he was very accommodating towards the students and told a good story. The story he told of all the hidden nooks and crannies and how they came to be, is worth the attention and a few coins

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank TJKaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb guided tour of Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2016

This tour is for anyone - you don't need any real advance knowledge of the city or its. history, but by the end you'll feel like an expert!

I had a couple of hours to spend in Dublin, so I booked on the 11.30am tour on spec and didn't book in advance.

The first part of the tour actually took place in the International Bar on Wicklow Street, where we were given a brief introductory talk on the history leading up to the Easter Rising.

Rory our guide was absolutely superb from start to finish. Back outside, the extreme cold did not dampen his enthusiasm for the subject matter, explained with an attention to detail which built a complex yet easy to understand narrative of the events.

At all times Rory communicated in a non-partisan manner but in a way that really brought home the centuries-long build up to the Easter Rising and its' aftermath, taking us right through to the present day.

This also works well as a guided tour of Dublin as Rory explains not just the history of the city but also its' architecture and geography. If you're in the city centre, remember to always look up! Otherwise you'll miss some impressive architecture.

Amongst other things, we learnt about the role women and the General Post Office building had in the rising, plus how the Royal navy ship the Helga was sailed up the river Liffey right into the centre of Dublin to shell the Liberty building. On another part of the tour we stopped on a busy intersection where today pedestrians and cars mix but in 1916 was occupied by artillery batteries set up by the British army.

You can also still see bullet holes in statues dotted around the city.

Rory stayed to answer questions after the tour had finished - a real mark of someone who is not just good at his job but cares about the subject. Please pass on my thanks to him.

This isn't just another boring historical tour - it brings the city to life. Thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend to anyone.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Majoribanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fascinating insight into this part of Irish history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

We met our guide Rory at The International Bar in the hear of Dublin. He welcomed us warmly at once and gave us a leaflet with some background history which we read in the bar whilst waiting for others. We were fortunate to be in a small group on a November, Monday morning. This made the tour more intimate and enabled interaction with Rory on a more personal basis. He encouraged us to ask questions at any point and this enhanced our experience.
After some 20 minutes of background history (covering some 800 years) we continued on the streets of Dublin, tracing the events of the 1916 rebellion in great detail. Rory's knowledge is encyclopaedic and his enthusiasm irrepressible. He explained the unfolding events of Easter 1916 in a fascinating manner and kept us enthralled throughout.
The tour lasted for over two hours and finished just around rhe corner from the O'Connell St Post Office where the rebellion started, on Moore St where the initial surrender to the British troops took place.
I can't recommend the tour highly enough. It left me wanting to find out more about the events of 1916 and beyond which is how it should be. Many thanks to Rory

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Ja2xarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1916 Rebellion Walking Tour also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to 1916 Rebellion Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing